Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Bourguignon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Bourguignon

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2010

      I did not add the wine because I dont usually keep any on hand and the kids swear they can taste it if they know it is in any recipe I make. So I used beef broth with a little bit of worchestershire in its place. This was super good, wonderful comfort food. Served on top of some mashed potatoes. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Great recipe. I scaled it up to serve 12, and had been planning to use part beef and part venison. I discovered upon thawing that my venison was actually ground, so that wasn't going to work. So I ended up using half chicken, and it actually worked out. The chicken pieces got all coated in the rich brown gravy so you could hardly even tell. i used 2 packages (10 or 12 oz) of frozen white pearl onions and more carrot. I made this for having 11 family members over and needed something to make ahead (made 3 days ahead) and that wouldn't require much action during the pre-dinner time. All I had to do was slowly warm in the oven, and just cook up a great big pot of egg noodles at the last minute. We had no leftovers (which was kind of unfortunate). I made this in my cast iron Dutch oven and it was just a nice hearty cauldron of good food. I am planning now to make it again, just for us, and this time there will be leftovers. Probably we will do it with noodles once and then maybe just with crusty bread. I will probably increase the liquid slightly to be sure there is enough gravy. Although it may be that my experience the first time, with the chicken, meant that more of the liquid got absorbed by the chicken. In any case, I thank you for the recipe and for allowing me to have a successful large dinner gathering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Amazing! The beef was so tender and moist. I do like a little more wine and less flour though much like the recipe at http://amodernwomansguide.com/?p=668

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This was a great dish as we had leftover red wine. I used more than the 2cups of red wine, and used bouquet garni. The beef was so tender and was very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      While I thought this was very good, my DH gave it a 5/10. I am discovering he doesn't like red wine dishes!! Thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      I cooked this up for a couple of friends and we all loved it.Easy to make one pot meal that seems foolproof.This is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      I made this on Sunday for my kids. They all have very sophisticated palates. needless to say it was a huge success. This the classic recipe and it is fantastic. Thanks for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This was delicious, left bout the peppers as the kids aren't keen on them and added 1/4 cup of bacon stock instead of bacon and came up really nice. Winner with the family will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Wonderful - Thanks so very much - this recipe decided me to join this great site! All my family enjoyed it and we will do it again! Fooking forward to trying more recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      All I can say is DELICIOUS! This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This is fabulous! I subbed regular onions for pearl because there are no fresh pearl onions to be found here. I served mine in a bowl with mashed potatoes plopped in the middle! So delicious and easy to make!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Love the favors in this dish! Very easy and worthy of company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Actually very simple to make!! I served over egg noodles cooked in chicken broth. The aroma from the oven was amazing though I couldn't help but think something was missing?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      i loved this recipe . straight forward . nothing in it that most people can get. thanks for posting this.dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      I almost got out of bed to come downstairs for just another taste. Ooooh, this is SO GOOD! I followed the recipe exactly. Leftovers aren't enough...I MUST make this again soon! Bless our Julia Child and our Rita for posting this fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      This was wonderful, the only hard thing about making this dish was waiting as the aromas of this wondeful casserole wafted through my house, my neighbour even came over to ask what i was making as he said it smelt so good.... The taste was extrordinary and very warming and comforting, will definately become a regular meal especially for the cooler months, thankyou so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      Holy crap! I was worried about this recipe, because all the beef bourguignon recipes I had come across included beef broth. I thought that only having wine for the liquid would be too "rich". I used Cabernet Sauvignon, because I was trying to use what I had left from another recipe I had tried. I was certain my husband, who DESPISES wine, especially anything red, wouldn't care for this. I was dead wrong! He put the first bite in his mouth, and before he even chewed declared it a 5! It was really incredible. I doubled the flour/salt/pepper combination so that I had enough to cover the beef cubes. My husband and I thought it was a TAD bit peppery...we liked it but figured if the kids were there to eat it they would balk. So...when I make this again...and I WILL make this again...I will still double the flour mixture, but will keep the pepper at 1 teaspoon. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as stated. GO JULIA! Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe Rita...certainly worthy of company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      This was excellent, easy to make. Guests loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      this was soooo good! It seemed at first like it wouldn't be worth it to spend 3 1/2 hours making dinner, but wow it was so good. And after the initial prep there is absolutely no work involved, which is great. Thanks so much for posting this, we will definately make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Bourguignon

    Serving Size: 1 (359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 321.5
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    31%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 87.8 mg
    29%
    Sodium 462.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 28.3 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes