37 Reviews

A lot of reviewers are saying this is Ghormeh Sabzi as opposed to Khoresh and the recipe is not authentic. I agree but it's still a fantastic base! I love the addition of cinnamon. I added ground fenugreek (no leaves or seeds available) and also added coriander (a.k.a cilantro) and celery leaves to the fried herb mix. I used lime instead of lemon and added garlic as a personal preference. Probably not an "authentic" take on this dish but I LOVED it!! Served with basmalti rice with dill and broad beans. Delicious. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonathan_Creek July 08, 2012

This is definitely Ghormeh Sabzi! I'm glad to see people try this dish. The classic recipe does NOT have cinnamon and just a bit of cumin, maybe 1/4 teaspoon. There is usually waaaay more greens, including fenugreek. At least a whole bunch of Italian or regular parsley, and it should all be fried before being added, which gives it a desirable darker look and more flavor. But all in all, great recipe for the brave and adventurous souls out there who are unfamiliar with Persian cuisine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anita S. November 05, 2009

A flavorful stew! Very tasty but the meat was not as tender as I thought it was going to be so next time I'll try to make it in the slow cooker. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn October 02, 2009

I am reviewing Ghormeh Sabzi , I have my recipe from a Persian cookbook and from what I recall there is no cinnamon and no cumin(when I added it my Iranian husband said it doesn't taste like the real one becoz of it). There is a lot more herbs to it -one kg herbs was like a half dollar in Iran . The herbs are being fried then added to the onions and meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia September 25, 2009

Excellent dish..very simple..even my Persian-Armenian husband liked it...this is the first persian dish I've made (as I am Asian) and it was sooo good..next time I will serve with plain yogurt...also I will change the amount of water to just enough to cover the meat and also I think its better to thicken it with a roux... (UPDATE!!!) I have been cooking perian food alot lately, and though this is a good starting recipe, the true version of this stew is "ghormeh sabzi (for lack of better spelling). It is more traditional if you omit the cumin and cinnamon, and also to use dill and coriander (aka cilantro) in equal amounts when frying herbs to add to stew. Also be sure to chop all the herbs finely. SInce making Gormeh Sabzi, I have not gone back to making this version. THIS STEW IS NOT NOT NOT MEANT TO BE SWEET!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natedbaby January 26, 2009

I had high expectations after reading the reviews, but it fell pretty flat at our house. It was pretty bland and boring. I ladled it over brown rice like others mentioned. I followed the recipe exactly, no substitutions. I am willing to eat the leftovers, but nobody else is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mudder91 November 27, 2008

Wonderful. It was a very hearty meal. Not spicy at all but very tasty and flavorful. All seasonings mixed well and it was a beautiful color. My husband said he'd love me to make it again. I served it with lemon slices on the side in addition to the lemon juice mixed in. Not that the dish needed it but more because we are lemon/lime fanatics. I too served it over Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice per AuntSana's suggestion. I was also to impress my new sister in law with this beautiful unique dish. Thank you Angie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin September 18, 2008

I had this recipe picked out but kept putting it off. WHY DID I WAIT? As with most of the other posters, was a little concerned as it didn't seem like it was coming together. Just wait the full time and you will be rewarded with a luscious Persian dish. Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice a must to accompany. Thnx for posting, Angie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter August 15, 2008

Interesting, but very tasy! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KiwiJuice July 31, 2008
Beef & Bean Khoresh (a Persian Beef Stew)