Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef & Bean Khoresh (a Persian Beef Stew) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef & Bean Khoresh (a Persian Beef Stew)

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2013

    • on July 08, 2012

      A lot of reviewers are saying this is Ghormeh Sabzi as opposed to Khoresh and the recipe is not authentic. I agree but it's still a fantastic base! I love the addition of cinnamon. I added ground fenugreek (no leaves or seeds available) and also added coriander (a.k.a cilantro) and celery leaves to the fried herb mix. I used lime instead of lemon and added garlic as a personal preference. Probably not an "authentic" take on this dish but I LOVED it!! Served with basmalti rice with dill and broad beans. Delicious. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      This is definitely Ghormeh Sabzi! I'm glad to see people try this dish. The classic recipe does NOT have cinnamon and just a bit of cumin, maybe 1/4 teaspoon. There is usually waaaay more greens, including fenugreek. At least a whole bunch of Italian or regular parsley, and it should all be fried before being added, which gives it a desirable darker look and more flavor. But all in all, great recipe for the brave and adventurous souls out there who are unfamiliar with Persian cuisine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      A flavorful stew! Very tasty but the meat was not as tender as I thought it was going to be so next time I'll try to make it in the slow cooker. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      I am reviewing Ghormeh Sabzi , I have my recipe from a Persian cookbook and from what I recall there is no cinnamon and no cumin(when I added it my Iranian husband said it doesn't taste like the real one becoz of it). There is a lot more herbs to it -one kg herbs was like a half dollar in Iran . The herbs are being fried then added to the onions and meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Excellent dish..very simple..even my Persian-Armenian husband liked it...this is the first persian dish I've made (as I am Asian) and it was sooo good..next time I will serve with plain yogurt...also I will change the amount of water to just enough to cover the meat and also I think its better to thicken it with a roux... (UPDATE!!!) I have been cooking perian food alot lately, and though this is a good starting recipe, the true version of this stew is "ghormeh sabzi (for lack of better spelling). It is more traditional if you omit the cumin and cinnamon, and also to use dill and coriander (aka cilantro) in equal amounts when frying herbs to add to stew. Also be sure to chop all the herbs finely. SInce making Gormeh Sabzi, I have not gone back to making this version. THIS STEW IS NOT NOT NOT MEANT TO BE SWEET!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      I had high expectations after reading the reviews, but it fell pretty flat at our house. It was pretty bland and boring. I ladled it over brown rice like others mentioned. I followed the recipe exactly, no substitutions. I am willing to eat the leftovers, but nobody else is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Wonderful. It was a very hearty meal. Not spicy at all but very tasty and flavorful. All seasonings mixed well and it was a beautiful color. My husband said he'd love me to make it again. I served it with lemon slices on the side in addition to the lemon juice mixed in. Not that the dish needed it but more because we are lemon/lime fanatics. I too served it over Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice per AuntSana's suggestion. I was also to impress my new sister in law with this beautiful unique dish. Thank you Angie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I had this recipe picked out but kept putting it off. WHY DID I WAIT? As with most of the other posters, was a little concerned as it didn't seem like it was coming together. Just wait the full time and you will be rewarded with a luscious Persian dish. Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice a must to accompany. Thnx for posting, Angie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      Interesting, but very tasy! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Am wondering if this was placed in a crockpot, TRUE! WOuld the meat basically melt in my mouth too! Can only try, as this recipe looks GREAT! Look forward to how will rate! Cheers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      I made this as a fun alternative to the latino beef stews that i usually make and I loved it.The beef was very tender my fiancee on the other hand had no comment he's accustomed to mexican beef stew so I probably won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      We ended up doubling this recipe as we had bought 2 lbs of ground beef. This meal was *okay*, but I don't think that we will make it again. My husband felt that the beef was a little bit dry. We followed the recipe essentially as is, except we used dried chives (6 tsp. [remember we doubled it]), and we used 8 tablespoons lemon juice from a bottle, instead of fresh lemon juice. No flour was added. This meal was okay, but we probably won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      This is very delicious, very authentic tasting. I reduced the turmeric and cumin to 1 heaping tsp each, used 2 cans of kidney beans to stretch the meat, added a lot of black pepper in the end, and used only half a large lemon for about 1 tbs of juice. I didn't add flour because the sauce reduced well to the right consistency. These were good changes that I will repeat. Next time I will probably soak dry red beans myself (the night before) because I think the texture will be better than canned beans. I made this to go along with a cornbread craving I was having, and it was actually a great combination with "Real Southern Cornbread" #51550! It's a nice twist on cornbread and beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      This was delicious! I will defintely make this dish again. I didn't have turmeric on hand. (thought I did...so I searched on-line for spice substitutes) Recommendations included leaving the spice out altogether or substituting equal amounts of ground mustard. I chose to substitute with ground mustard...but only with 1 teaspoon instead of 2. I also used 1 1/2 cups of water and 1 cup beef broth. I disagree with reviewers that said the water content was too much. I did thicken the broth using cornstarch instead of flour. The cornstarch container recommended using 1/2 of the measurements called for when flour is the listed ingredient used to thicken a broth. I guess those who said they would cut down on the water enjoy their stews with more of a gravy type of sauce. This dish was served over brown rice. We liked eating it more like a soup. So you'd want a lot of broth in that case. The flavors were perfect. Because I didn't use turmeric, the broth had a more clear consistency...no orangey color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This was delicious. I didn't have kidney beans, so I used red lentils and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      This was very very good - and different, which is what we were after! :) Will definitely make again, though I'd cut down on the liquid a bit, maybe use chicken or beef broth as suggested in other reviews. Other than that, would not change. Served with rice, would also try with couscous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Wow. The flavors are realy interesting and exotic. I love cinnamon in savory dishes. Thanks for posting this exotic and delicious dish. I looked through all your recipes. It is great to get a new perspective on foods as I am in USA the Australian perspective is really fresh. Thanks,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      This really was an outstanding meal - full of flavor, i followed it exactly - but did not add quite so much water and I did not need to thicken it.... Its not often that I give guests an untried recipe... but having cooked it the day before, i knew that it was great... thanks so much for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      This was excellent. I followed it all the way except adding flour, I didn't not think it needed it. Very nice, I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef & Bean Khoresh (a Persian Beef Stew)

    Serving Size: 1 (421 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 425.1
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    51%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 82.9 mg
    27%
    Sodium 388.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 30.0 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites