Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Barley Veggy Soup - Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Barley Veggy Soup - Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2002

      Another good one Dorothy. I love barley and beef goes with it naturally. Next time I will try it with beef stock instead of just water. Thanks for another one Dorothy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      This stew is delish--I have made it twice and both times it took only about 7 hours to cook. I used venison instead of beef and substituted 3/4 c. of the water with 3/4 c. of a dark beer for flavor and tenderizer. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2002

      I left out the water and used 5, 14-1/2 oz cans of beef broth, just because we like a soup with lots of liquid. I only had regular tomatoes, so I added 2 T minced garlic. This is wonderful! SO much flavor! It made a large pot full, so I froze enough for another meal. Thanks for a great recipe, Dorothy! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      Dorothy, you never cease to amaze me! This soup was really good. I chopped the veggies chunky and added some sliced garlic. It seemed like a sin not to. :o) My only complaint is that the thyme was a little too strong for me. Next time I make this I will either cut it back or leave it out. If is weren't for that, definately a 5 star recipe in my book! Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2001

      A delicious recipe, good on those cold nights!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2002

    • on November 25, 2001

    • on December 09, 2012

    • on April 01, 2011

      Thought it was ok.. but came out as more of a stew than soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      this was awesome, i have tried a few recipes this one is by far the best. i work in a cafe and made some for my boss on a cold day and she said it was better than her mom used to make (dont worry i am not selling this recipe).My own mother also said it was better than hers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

    • on September 30, 2009

      Really yummy - I made a couple of changes but I don't think they changed the overall concept too much. We used a large can (48 oz.?) of tomato juice insted of the canned diced tomatoes and tomato sauce (my kids hate chunks of tomatoes) and beef boullion insted of beef broth. I left out the thyme to taste later and then forgot to add it in - was wonderful anyway. I added about 1 large teaspoon of crushed garlic since I put garlic in everything. I served it with fresh sourdough rolls. VERY GOOD and i'm sure i'll make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Sorry, but didn't really care for this one. It had a lot of broth and something was off a bit with the taste...but can't pin it down. I used whatever veggies I had on hand. Does make a ton...had to put most in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I wouldn't say I am a huge fan of veggie soup, beef or otherwise, but this was a good recipe. I changed it a lot based on what veggies I had. I left out the green beans and corn and celery...I didn't have them. And I added strips of cabbage b/c I had it left over from something else. I also added some italian seasoning to the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      This was so good! I doubled this back in January for my family and a friend's family. My friend called the next day for the recipe! I love that it freezes so well, though I find that we need to add more broth when reheating it. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This was very good! I'm glad I tried this. I have a 5qt crock pot and I couldn't fit everything in the pot. I left out the green beans and one of the cans of diced tomatoes and it was full to the top. We also can't buy tomatoes with garlic here so I added three cloves of minced garlic. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Fan-freaking-tastic. No need to freeze because it never lasts that long. Tried it with fresh thyme and dried - fresh is DEFINITELY better. Added Maggi's seasoning for some kick. *Yum!*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Wow I made this leaving out some veggies because my husband doesn't like them, but I did add a little wine for taste. My mom was here for dinner and we all enjoyed it!! So good made extra to freeze. :-D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I thought for sure that my husband would love this soup, but he only had one serving and didn't have much to say about it. For me, I thought it turned out okay, but I don't eat beef very often so I don't think I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Barley Veggy Soup - Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.0
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    18%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 43.5 mg
    14%
    Sodium 721.9 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 19.0 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tomatoes with garlic

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites