Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / beef barley stew/soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    beef barley stew/soup

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2003

      Great recipe.....soup was full of flavor & very easy to make. I will definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      We only ever have moose in our freezer. Just browned in the oil without adding to flour mixture and followed thru instructions til step 5. Omitted Step 6 as thick enuf for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      I still have this on the stove, but after sampling I feel comfortable giving it a five star review, and saying that it's a great recipe for a classic beef barley stew. Easy enough for a rookie to pull off with great results. Personally, I modified the directions and ingredients a little bit, beginning with dredging the beef in flour before browning. I also added a large (28 oz) can of chopped tomatoes, and a little red wine, which substituted for part of the liquids. Instead of using beef stock, I simply added water and 2 bouillon cubes (because I am lazy, and hate doing dishes). I did not bother to thicken the stock, the flour on the beef cubes seems to have provided enough body to the broth to satisfy my desires. The seasoning for this is perfect as is, but I added a splash of Worchestershire and a pinch of smoked sea salt. Will be serving this delicious dish with fresh baking soda biscuits. Thanks, Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      Very easy to make and very good! I really liked the taste, it wasn't bland like a lot of soups/stews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      This is a good recipe.The flavor is wonderful.The recipe dosen't say when to add the potatoes so I cooked it for 45 minutes then added the carrots and potatoes with the barley so they wouldn't be to soft.I will be making it again.Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      This soup was so delicious..the only difference was I only used 1 t. of each of the spices...we didn't have mushroom or peas, so I added fresh cut green beans...everything else was the same as the recipe as written...thank you for sharing this...it is definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      We loved this recipe. I didn't have any mushroom, but will next time I make this. I had to use leeks from the freezer, no onions on hand. I will omit the basil next time, DH didn't care for it, what does he know? I just threw everything into the pot and let it simmer for several hours on the wood stove. Fantastic aroma and a fantastic recipe. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      Great recipe, flavorful and pretty easy to make. It's a keeper! I like that it doesn't need lots of salt and pepper to have flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      This came out great. It thickens up quite a bit upon sitting so if it seems to thin after adding the cornstarch, give it some time. I froze this and it reheated nicely. I used two cans of potatoes to save a little time, and 2 small cans of button mushrooms.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This is a good dish for a cold night -- very filling. We went the soup route and by the next day the leftovers looked more like stew -- in fact we had to add more broth. It was still good. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      After looking at all the recipes, this looked like the best and it was. I substituted dark beer for some of the beef broth and it added depth to the taste. The barley was tricky and would suggest cooking it separately; it is like rice and cooking times vary by brand and type. I want to try this again with parsnips vs carrots which lose their flavor when cooked. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Chia...this is a lovely stewp (stew+soup=stewp), and we thoroughly enjoyed it! I used two pkgs of medium-meaty soup bones (we have our own beef), so that was a bit different than straight stew-meat, but I browned them up anyway, and then let them work in the crockpot while I went to work and the meat fell off the bones...and the DOG is THRILLED about the bones to gnaw on. Canned mushrooms pinch-hit for the fresh ones. Oh, and I forgot the bay leaves & purposely skipped the peas. Sloshed in one cup of red wine and three of water (and chicken broth with 3 tsp beef base bouillon)-- the flavor is/was OUTSTANDING! And --altho' other reviewers thought you called out too MUCH of the herbs-- we LOVED the flavor-punch of the herbs....stewing for hours in the crockpot melds everything so beautifully. I can't WAIT for the leftovers this weekend. Yummy! My ONLY conplaint is that the ingredients are NOT in order of use in the recipe--and that is slightly confusing. But anyway, the outstanding flavor was worth the extra work. I can see why your college kids want this when they come home...this is THE definition of "home".... KEEPER!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I only had fresh thyme and fresh bay leaves, so I didn't put in the other spices. (except salt & pepper) I did use a bottle of merlot in place of the water. I'm sure this altered the flavor of the stew, but it was delicious! I had to cook mine for 1/2 hour - 45 minutes longer than suggested in order for the meat to be tender.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      I made this earlier this week. We have had leftovers twice and it is great! This meat is so tender. You should try this one for a cold winter night. We have had over two feet of snow in the last week. Great to come home to for leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      Delicious , Chia I made this for dinner tonight,had dinner guest, they enjoyed it so much.I served it with your Microwave Polenta, goes really good together. Serve the stew over the polenta. Thank you Chia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2014

      Absolutely delicious... I halved the recipe as I was making this for two and I was so sorry I did :P Followed all ingredients except I used all beef stock (home made) to replace the half-stock half-water measurements. So delicious eaten with a good baguette slathered with good unsalted butter. I have a little portion left, frozen, which I am looking forward to reheat and take a photo of to add to this entry here, and of course eat! Thank you Chia! What a lovely stew for family. I would also like to mention that though this recipe uses beef (in health-speak beef is not the best option) this stew is incredibly healthy as it's stuffed with veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      This "stew" was terrible - it never thickened up for us, and had WAY TOO MUCH SPICE IN IT. We tried to eat it but ended up putting it in the fridge and threw it out 2 days later. I knew it was too much water when I made it, but followed the recipe almost exactly - I cut the spices in half and it was still too much. I even added extra cornstarch when it was done and it still didn't thicken. Horrible even for soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      I was really disappointed in this recipe because it was so highly rated. I hate to be one of the people who disparage a possibly good recipe but it was a miss with my family. It turned out way too thick and the barley was way undercooked. It was not unusually flavorful enough to really turn the tide of negative reactions to it and the leftovers sat in a lump on the bottom of my refrigerator. I tried to be optimistic and eat it but it was gluey at that point. I hope other people had better luck than me...we just did not prefer it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      A good recipe enjoyed by all. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      this was really great, especially in method...everything cooked perfectly. i added 1/2 c. red wine and 3/4 c. of tomato paste that i caramelized first. made the stew super rich and yummy. i also added parnip which i highly recommend in beef stew always. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for beef barley stew/soup

    Serving Size: 1 (535 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.3
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    25%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 578.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 31.1 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes