Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2009

      Absolutely excellent! Don't underestimate the simplicity of this dish. It is so very well balanced. I added the barley to brown with the onions, added some Knorr dry french onion soup mix instead of the bullion and the frozen veggies is used were petite diced peas and carots as well as using petite diced tomatoes and dicing my meat petite as well. It was beautiful and a "10" in my book. Thank you so much...... :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      My husband really liked this easy to make soup. I skipped the bay leaf celery as I was out. For my veggies I added baby carrots as the soup was simmering and some mixed veggies as suggested. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      This soup was a winner with my family. I also gave a portion to my neighbors and they liked it too. Asked for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Very good! I made this with leftover meat from a prime rib roast. I added more spices, freshly ground black pepper, Worchestershire sauce and more garlic. Would definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      This was so easy and so tasty. I will definietly make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2005

      Yummy and very easy. Can substitue virtually anything in your pantry for the veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      Very hearty and satisfying soup. I did make a few minor changes to reflect what I had on hand. I increased the meat to 1 pound and since I didn't have mixed vegetables I used frozen green beans and corn, and added fresh carrots with the tomatoes. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      This was a great way to introduce hubby to 'zaar; he made it today and WOW was it great! As for being a winter soup--today is Aug. 6. But here in western Canada soup is ok year-round (even if it is 80F)! 1 minor adaptation--used 1 ltr veg broth 'cuz we ran short of beef broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2003

      Delicious! Even though this is described as a winter soup, I eat soup all year long, so I still gave it a try! I used homemade beef stock, and I used fresh veggies (refrigerator clean-out time!) instead of frozen. Thanks for a great lunch for all of next week, LAP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (355 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.3
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    34%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 26.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 968.3 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites