10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This a very tasty, stick-to-your-ribs soup. I added more water than the recipe calls for because I found it to be a little too thick for my likes.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabe Geber July 23, 2001

I know summer is not the usual time to make soups but here in Ontario this summer, the weather has'nt been the greatest so soup really appealed to me. I did up to step 3 the first day and put it in the fridge. The next day I skimmed off the fat and carried on with the recipe. The only things I did differently from the recipe was I used beef shank (I had that on hand) instead of the short ribs and I also added a packet of Oxo beef bouillon. I found that the soup was a little thick (I think another reviewer commented on this) so the next time I would really cut down on the barley. But I must say, the soup was very easy to make and well worth the effort. I really enjoyed it. Thanks for an easy soup recipe that I will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert August 06, 2003

Thank you for your wonderful recipe. I had not had beef barley soup in a long time and it tasted so good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duckit March 15, 2002

I''ve made it several times already this winter and enjoyed it so very much low sodium helps a lot but did cut down on the barley somewhat but great otherwise.....thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James Albin December 31, 2001

So, so easy and a solid basic recipe. I did use short ribs the first time, but now use cheap bone-in pot roast instead - more meat, as the boys requested. Seasoned my roast generously with adobo seasoning and browned before adding liquid. Added one tub of Knorr concentrated beef stock to the water. In place of the carrots, celery and cabbage I used Publix brand frozen soup veggies with tomatoes, okra, limas, etc. I've also added diced zucchini, frozen corn, frozen peas, and diced potatoes. I love how easy it is to substitute ingredients according to what's on hand - this will be served on a regular basis in our home!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinay0618 October 13, 2012

Absolutely delicious! Simple to make, and tasty to boot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amethyst42 February 10, 2011

This recipe was a hit at my house. The prepartion time was well worth it, and it wasn't that long. My 4 year old grandson who never eats soup, ate this one. Another recipe, I'll have to double next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandmabap October 06, 2008

Yummy on a chilly day. I made this in a Crock Pot, using about a pound of beef neck bones (which had incredible flavor!), plus about a pound of leftover round steaks. When I removed the bones, I added 1 1/2 cups water. I used only about 1/2 cup barley, and did not use cabbage, and used 2T dry parsley. It was a nice consistency, and flavorful. Easy to do, and would be easier if one used all leftover meat and beef broth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheapThrills December 16, 2006

This was very good and easy to make. I used the medium barley and let the soup simmer all afternoon. I did have to add more water because it started to thicken too much for my husband's liking. Serve with some freshly baked warm bread....yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie 1957 October 06, 2006

I loved this. First time making and made it for my partner who loves Beef Barley soup. I was really nervous, but she said she loved it! About to make it again tonight (by request). I did add 2 cups of beef boullion (made from beef base and hot water)before I added the barley, because it was getting a little dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry Hollingshead October 26, 2003
Beef Barley Soup