Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2001

      This a very tasty, stick-to-your-ribs soup. I added more water than the recipe calls for because I found it to be a little too thick for my likes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      I know summer is not the usual time to make soups but here in Ontario this summer, the weather has'nt been the greatest so soup really appealed to me. I did up to step 3 the first day and put it in the fridge. The next day I skimmed off the fat and carried on with the recipe. The only things I did differently from the recipe was I used beef shank (I had that on hand) instead of the short ribs and I also added a packet of Oxo beef bouillon. I found that the soup was a little thick (I think another reviewer commented on this) so the next time I would really cut down on the barley. But I must say, the soup was very easy to make and well worth the effort. I really enjoyed it. Thanks for an easy soup recipe that I will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2002

      Thank you for your wonderful recipe. I had not had beef barley soup in a long time and it tasted so good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2001

      I''ve made it several times already this winter and enjoyed it so very much low sodium helps a lot but did cut down on the barley somewhat but great otherwise.....thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      So, so easy and a solid basic recipe. I did use short ribs the first time, but now use cheap bone-in pot roast instead - more meat, as the boys requested. Seasoned my roast generously with adobo seasoning and browned before adding liquid. Added one tub of Knorr concentrated beef stock to the water. In place of the carrots, celery and cabbage I used Publix brand frozen soup veggies with tomatoes, okra, limas, etc. I've also added diced zucchini, frozen corn, frozen peas, and diced potatoes. I love how easy it is to substitute ingredients according to what's on hand - this will be served on a regular basis in our home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! Simple to make, and tasty to boot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      This recipe was a hit at my house. The prepartion time was well worth it, and it wasn't that long. My 4 year old grandson who never eats soup, ate this one. Another recipe, I'll have to double next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      Yummy on a chilly day. I made this in a Crock Pot, using about a pound of beef neck bones (which had incredible flavor!), plus about a pound of leftover round steaks. When I removed the bones, I added 1 1/2 cups water. I used only about 1/2 cup barley, and did not use cabbage, and used 2T dry parsley. It was a nice consistency, and flavorful. Easy to do, and would be easier if one used all leftover meat and beef broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      This was very good and easy to make. I used the medium barley and let the soup simmer all afternoon. I did have to add more water because it started to thicken too much for my husband's liking. Serve with some freshly baked warm bread....yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      I loved this. First time making and made it for my partner who loves Beef Barley soup. I was really nervous, but she said she loved it! About to make it again tonight (by request). I did add 2 cups of beef boullion (made from beef base and hot water)before I added the barley, because it was getting a little dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (396 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 489.0
     
    Calories from Fat 372
    76%
    Total Fat 41.3 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 17.9 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 86.1 mg
    28%
    Sodium 98.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 17.7 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites