Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef Barley Skillet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Barley Skillet

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2014

      This is one of my favourite go to recipes. I replaced the water with beef broth to give it a little more flavour. It's one of those recipes that always seems to turn out, easy to make but it looks like you slaved in the kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Super recipe! Served over mashed potatoes with a side of roast asparagus. Skipped the celery and added extra peppers. Used Goya barley and it was perfectly soft after 30 min. So good, reminded me a little of shepherd's pie filling with a kick from the chilli sauce. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      Very, very yummy! I used leftover roast beef and fresh tomatoes rather than canned, but otherwise followed this recipe exactly. It was just barely enough for our family of 5. A great way to use up leftover roast, for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      We enjoyed this recipe very much. Cooked it just like you posted. We simply just ate it out of a bowl and got our bellys full. Simple to follow recipe. Thank You for posting. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      This was a great hearty meal for when you are hungry and you want something good and filling. I added a beef bullion cube to add some flavor. I also served with mashed potatoes and mixed steamed vegies. Be careful with the chili sauce because mine kind of dominated the flavor pool. I added a little less then half a cup and it was almost too much. I used 2 cans of tomatoes and it tasted great but probably could have cut it down to one. I had to add more H20 about half way through. Thank you for the great tasting low cost recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Good meal! As others stated I served with mashed potatoes and mixed veggies, it was a good combination. I used pearl barley and found that I needed to really watch and keep adding liquid. My barley took the full hour to cook all the way. Yummy! My husband said it reminded him of my shephard's pie - which I'm thinking would be a nice way to serve leftovers sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Such a versatile and yummy one dish meal! I used the whole pepper (red), just one can diced tomatoes, and left out the celery. As others had suggested I used low sodium beef broth in place of the water for extra flavor. This was my first adventure with barley and I was pleasantly surprised.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I made this for our dinner on 12/30/07 and it was really very good.Since we don't care for celery and green peppers I added peas & carrots that I had leftover for color.And I only had one can of tomatoes,and that seemed to work just fine.This was a very hearty meal on it's own,but to make it even heartier I served it over mashed potatoes.SO added a little water to some of the leftovers next day and made himself some soup.Thanks for posting,and "Keep Smiling:)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Added corn like others have suggested put a little hot sauce on before serving. Excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Great flavor, easy to make, and no expensive ingredients. I used ground chuck, petite diced tomatoes, and beef broth instead of water. Cooked for 35 minutes using the quick cooking barley and enjoyed true comfort food for supper. DH had two helpings! Nice recipe Charlotte, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      This is a flavorful, nicely textured, one-dish stovetop meal. It's the same as the recipe I've been using for years from The More with Less Cookbook. It's easy to put together and always turns out great. Sometimes I add extra vegetables and a bit of tabasco sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      Wow, what a flavorful, easy meal to prepare. I followed the recipe to the letter and did add peas and corn the last 15 minutes as suggested by ksduffster and thought it added alot. My husband says this is a "doer again"! Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      This was awesome! It was so easy to pretty much just throw everything in the skillet and let it simmer. I used regular pearl barley and cooked it for about 50 minutes. I omitted the celery because my celery was suspect, substituted V8 for half the water to make it a little richer, and added a cup each of frozen peas and corn about 15 minutes before it was finished cooking so that it would be a more substantial meal. It was also good at lunch the next day. No boring leftovers here! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Barley Skillet

    Serving Size: 1 (268 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 251.5
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    33%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 958.6 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 14.8 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites