Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef, Barley and Dried Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef, Barley and Dried Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2009

      Great soup. I made half a recipe using dried shiitake and fresh button mushrooms. I did add another 1/2 c. water as it was getting a bit thick for us. I did have to cook it longer than one hour for the barley to be done but the flavors blended beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      This was a warm hearty fall soup! I deleted the ground beef, doubled the mushrooms, and used petite diced tomatoes with chipotle instead of the chipotle and tomatoe paste. I'm sure we will make this throughout the fall/winter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      Just what I needed for a simple dinner for myself. It is a very thick soup...earthy, beefy, and with just a little kick from the chipotle. I loved it. So different from your usual, run of the mill beef barley soups, yet the familiarity of that home cooked soup is still definitely there. I didn't have any porcinis so I doubled up on the shiitakes... and even added a few ounces of white button mushrooms. Did I mention that I LOVE mushrooms??? Will be making this one often during the winter months! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      Very good!! Both of us really liked this soup. I used 8oz fresh sliced mushrooms instead of dried because dried mushrooms are sooo expensive. I also used 3 chipotle peppers instead of one because we like a little heat! Otherwise I followed the recipe. I was leary about using beef cubes AND ground beef but it was great!!!This will be a regular meal in our house! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Excellent! This is really more like a stew. Very hearty and beefy. Loved the layers of flavor. I had to use only shiitake, but the mushroom broth was dark and flavorful. The chipotle added a smokey and slightly spicy element. This is going in my favorites cookbook, and will definitely be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      This was great. I used the ground turkey, double the porcini because I didn't have dried shitakes, and added a small can of mushrooms, just because we love mushrooms. It came out more like a stew and was really hearty. I loved the slight heat from the chipotle. I'll be making this one a lot this winter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      my husband loved this,he had three servings and he's really picky about soup.thanks this ones going in the family favourites file!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      Rita, hope you don't mind, I adapted your recipe for the crockpot. I used extra lean stew meat, seasoned with salt and pepper then browned it in the olive oil. Cut the onions and carrots in half lengthwise then sliced them using the food processor slicing blade. The celery was also sliced. Added the browned, meat, sliced veggies and remainder of ingredients and cooked on low for about 8 hours. The last hour of cooking, I added the chile, mushrooms and additional liquid from the mushrooms. The soup has a wonderfully rich muchroom broth. DH loved it! Thanks for a definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef, Barley and Dried Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (469 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.3
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    41%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 95.3 mg
    31%
    Sodium 674.9 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 33.8 g
    67%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried funghi porcini

    dried shiitake mushrooms

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites