17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'll be honest, I didn't make this. I did, however, print it out for a friend, who served it to me for lunch last Saturday. I totally enjoyed it, had seconds, and even thought about thirds. I would have added a ton of garlic, but that's just me. Thanks Dorothy, this one is a winner!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj January 07, 2002

Thank you Dorothy for this crockpot recipe.....I only added a few things just to kick it up a little;>).....2 tsp ready to serve chopped garlic and 1 medium bay leaf also used Kosher salt....must say the best I have had!!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don December 31, 2001

This was a very good dish....the rosemary and thyme made all the difference. This is a keeper.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wanda gates December 28, 2001

This was a hit for Easter dinner. The meat was very tender and flavorful as were the potatoes and carrots. I was a little hesitent about pasting the dijon mustard plus spices directly on the chuck roast but it worked out nicely with the flavor of the thyme and rosemary permeating the meat and vegetables. I actually put the entire recipe together in the crockpot the night before, placed it in the refrigerator and on Easter morning I just plugged it in (I did make sure that the potatoes were under the beef broth to prevent any discoloration). Worked out very well and I didn't have all the work to do they day of Easter.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn April 03, 2002

A real winner! Made two of these for a church function and they disappered in a heartbeat. Must admit had my doubts about the Dijon mustard, but the spices, veggies, etc. really came together for a nice, mellow flavor. This is sure to become a "crockpot classic"!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Warren Slaughter March 18, 2002

Very good, a must try.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LikeItLoveIt October 28, 2001

My husband really enjoyed it. His words were "this roast is amazing". He was hesitant at first with everything being rubbed on the roast though. I did put the mustard mixture on the roast the night before and let it sit and I cut up all the veggies (potatoes, carrots, mushrooms, & celery) the night before also and put them in containers. It made it a lot easier to prepare the next morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelB-KY August 04, 2010

DH and I had this roast last night for dinner. It gets extra points from me because it was so easy for me to prepare. Wait 8 hours and viola, it is done. I used fresh rosemary and thyme from my garden and took the advice of other reviewers adding a bay leaf and a fat clove of chopped garlic in Step 3 and 3 more cloves of garlic in the crock pot. I had more than a generous amount of mustard mix to pat onto the roast and it smelled incredibly fragrant. However, after 8 hours, not alot of the herb/mustard taste came through on the meat itself, which was disappointing. The broth had a nice flavor. Thanks for this quick and easy meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny August 20, 2008

We loved this crock pot meal. The meat was perfect and had such a great flavor. The broth was richly flavored and was wonderful poured over the roast and potatoes when served. Thanks for a nice recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elainegl March 18, 2008

Awesome- I added fresh green beans to get some extra veggies. I mixed the leftover meat with b-b-que sauce to make sandwiches for the game!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi from Boise October 20, 2007
Beef and Potatoes With Rosemary and Thyme - Crock Pot