Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef and Onion Tater Tot Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef and Onion Tater Tot Casserole

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2010

      I've made this for years and my family loves it. My grandma introduced me to this with regular tater tots and then thinly sliced onions on top of the ground beef. I tried cooking the beef in the pan, draining and then adding the rest of the stuff (this cuts down the grease some). But now I just brown the beef first. I also use cream of chicken soup because some of us don't like mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Great recipe and easy to make. I used 2 small onions and some fresh garlic. A little milk to make it a little more creamier.. DH really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      My husband, who is a self-proclaimed casserole hater, even liked it. I browned the beef with onion & chopped mushrooms, added a layer of frozen corn on the beef mixture, shredded cheese over the soup layer and used plain tater tots. Think frozen peas would be good, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

      this was great simple and went over well with all my kids. i could not find oniion tater tots and know i still wanted that tast so i use freches fried onions in it it was great i think next time will use the chedder ones

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      Kelly, this was SOOOO good!!! I couldn't believe how satisfying and tasty this was -- beyond my expectations! So simple to make! I did both of your #8 and #9 suggestions when I made this for my kids (added the green beans and the cheese), and the response was GREAT! It's voted a Keeper in this family! Thank you so much for posting this! YUM! Incredibly tasty and addictive......Wish I had some leftovers to take to work, but the kids came back for 2nds and 3rds until it was all gone!!! YIKES! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      good recipe but I didn't like that it sat in the grease. Delicious addictive flavor, but next time I'll make the beef first and drain off the excess fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      easy, yummy and most of my 4 kids like it .... i use the green beans and cheese (great way to get veggies into the meal) ..... and really, anything is better with cheese .... thanks for the great recipe (I especially like that you put the hamburger in the pan raw .... having to brown the ground beef for so many recipes makes a mess, and takes the "easy" out of it quite a bit)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Thank you for this wonderfully simple recipe! As others have mentioned previously - I used lean ground turkey instead and mixed in some Lipton Onion Soup Mix. I also threw in a can of mixed vegetables. WONDERFUL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      this was an awesome casserole great taste easy to make i too browned the beef i added green beans,frozen peas and mushrooms next time i think i will add the cheese thanks for sharin this great easy dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Now I have made this two times!! Got great reviews from adults and children!! Sure is nice to have something children and adults eat and have fun. Thank You!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      I have made this a few times now and totally love it! It's comfort food at it's best. I prefer to cook my beef first though to drain off the extra fat. I add green beans, mushrooms, thin sliced potatoes, brocolli...what ever I have in the fridge to give it some extra nutrition. The family loves it EVERY time! TY for the great go-to

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      I have a secret love of tater tots but I've never made this casserole before. Clearly, we've been missing out. Mine was u-g-l-y but ugly tasted soooo good. I halved this recipe and into the beef I mixed some leftover beefy onion soup mix. Added the soup, topped with cheese then tater tots (regular flavor). I can't wait to make this again next week. The only thing I will do differently (and this is just personal pref.) is try to buy the very leanest g. beef I can find and I won't top with cheese until it's done cooking. Mine was very greasy so I tried to pour some off to no avail. Thanks for sharing, this one is a keeper for us! (and my 7lb bag of tots :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Yum! Every typical man would love this - cheese, meat, and potatoes. What else could a guy ask for??? :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      Quite good. I did not press the meat into the pan, just sprinkled it; tucked some green olives in.) I added a bit of garlic powder, salt and pepper to the meat beforehand and mixed it well. I did spread a can of green cut green beans on top of the meat. Next time will try either corn or peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This is a terrific recipe and it so QUICK AND INEXPENSIVE.. This is the perfect tator tot casserole. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      This was pretty good. I liked that i didn't have to precook the meat, but it was more a meat pattie when it was finished. Maybe i packed it too much, though i did it lightly. I also added shredded cheddar. I will try again and pack it looser and may change the review. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Amazingly, this was enjoyed by my entire family. That almost never happens with new recipe finds. I only had 2 cans of cheddar cheese soup on hand and used it. It was phenomenal! I see endless possibilities of variations in the horizon. Thanks for sharing this new comfort type food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Excellent! Made this last night for my BF and he loved it. I added 1 can of peas and used o'brien's hashbrowns on top instead of tater tots...THANKS Wildflour!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Dinner couldn't be any easier. This is delicious and quick. I added a layer of shredded cheese over the tater tots and boy was this ever good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      DH and I thoroughly enjoyed this. We added the green beans as suggested at the end of the recipe, used lean ground turkey (DH can't have beef), and used regular tater tots rather than onion (DH also can't have onion). I was unsure whether or not the meat was supposed to be browned prior to assembly, so I browned it to be safe, and it worked just fine. It made two meals for DH and I. Maybe next time we'll try it with cheese, too! Thank you for a good, easy comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef and Onion Tater Tot Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (303 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 745.3
     
    Calories from Fat 393
    52%
    Total Fat 43.6 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 98.2 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1553.3 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 36.1 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites