Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef and Broccoli Stir-Fry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef and Broccoli Stir-Fry

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2011

      I tweaked the recipe a bit for my tastes, and it came out very flavorful, and delicious. I added about 1/4 tsp of ground ginger to the marinade, and 1 large clove of minced garlic. I doubled the recipe, since I used a beef roast. I let it marinade for the 3 hours, and it was perfectly tender. I also chopped up a 1/2 an onion into strips to stir-fry with it. I just dumped all the meat into my pan, the onion, and the broccoli and fried it all up together for about 10-15 min. until the meat was done. Came out wonderful, and no other pan to clean up! The broccoli was frozen to begin with and was tender crisp when the meat was finished. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      This was excellent!! Didn't have time to marinate the full 3 hours, so it was almost 1 hour. I used NY Strip (a little pricey, but worth it to me). Like another rater, I am too lazy to parboil and dirty another pan. I used about an inch of water in the bottom of the wok and cooked the broccoli a few minutes this way. I found that this made it so I didn't have to use as much oil when I stir fried the broccoli (will definitely use this technique again). I threw a handful of peanuts on the top of mine when done. This is going to be a favorite! I can't wait to try it again fully marinated!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      This was great! Hubby is allergic to oysters so I substituted black bean sauce in its place. I used sesame oil instead of vegetable oil. I marinade the meat during the day while I was gone, so for about 10 hrs. The meat was very tender and flavorful. I will certainly be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Nice meal. The meat was very tender so I recommend marinating as directed. I doubled the recipe so that we would have leftovers and added onions to the batch. Next time I will cut back on the oyster sauce by a tablespoon or so. I would use 3 T sherry if doubling. Thanks dibs for a tasty meal that we enjoyed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      We also really enjoyed this. We marinated for about 7 hours. Used a sirloin roast for the meat. I doubled the amount of garlic. Everything else, we did exactly as the recipe called for. The meal went over really well. Everyone seemed to enjoy it! This is a really easy recipe and is very similar to the beef/broccoli you might get at a restaurant!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2003

      This was absolutely awesome! The beef was also VERY tender! First time that I made a beef stir-fry where the meat wasn't kinda chewy. The long marination is definitely the big key to this recipe. Will use this recipe exclusively from now on. Followed the recipe exactly. Easy and delicious! Served it with steamed Jasmine Rice. You definitely have to try this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      I've now made this twice. It was wonderful with the beef and terrific with boneless pork loin too. The sauce is a little sweet, but well balanced. It's oh so good! One of the better make at home chinese dinners. I used an electric skillet and added red pepper strips the second time. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      Fabulous! (I'm crazy about fresh ginger so I added some finely minced into the marinade. Mmmm!) Thanks for posting this.<br/>Addendum: Made several times since first review. DH absolutely raves about it. This time I doubled the recipe (so I'd be sure to have leftovers). Browning that much beef in small batches took some extra time, but it was well rewarded. Thanks again. (Wish I could give it yet another 5 stars!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      I used pre-cut stir fry beef strips. I marinaded for 5 hours. Next time instead of going through all these steps, I'll simmer the beef for 1/2 hour to get it more tender and then just throw it all together in the same pan for 15-20 min. Was easy to make and tasted pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      This was really good, and the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that it wasn't a hit with the whole family. I doubled the recipe, but after reading some of the reviews, I did make some changes. I added garlic to the marinating mixture, and because I work all day, I did it in the morning and left it in the fridge all day. I added ginger and a sliced onion to the stir fry. I did not double the sugar or the oyster sauce thinking it might be too much, and I believe I was correct. I used sesame oil for the oil. I found my broccolli was still al dente, and that was a miss with some eaters. I used top round cut thin for sandwichs (bought it that way). I thought that there was a lot of meat as compared to broccoli. Finally, the calories for this dish are WAY off - not sure if it's because it says 3-4 servings, or because there's a bug at food.com, but when I put the very same recipe into the Calorie Count recipe tool with 4 servings, I got 328 calories a serving with 15.4g of fat - so not great, but not 94.4 grams!!! I will be making this again - for home-made Chinese food, this was one of the easier dishes I have made - doable for a weeknight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      This is only ok because the ramen is really bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

    • on May 30, 2010

      This was awesome. I used 4 cloves of garlic and added 2 tsp of ginger. My BF likes spicy so added 2 jalapeno peppers to the beef when stir frying. Removed before I returned the veg to the beef. I also stirfried the beef in 2 tsp sesame oil and added shrimp. To the broccoli I added matchstick carrots then added mushrooms when stirfrying. We both like yakasoba noodles so added those when I added the sauce. Also didn't have sherry wine so used rice wine vinegar. Best lomein ever!!! I would give more than 5 stars if possible. I had a receipe from a chinese cooking class I took but will use this one from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      My first and only review so far, because this was awesome!!! The meat comes out soooo tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      absolutely amazing! didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      I do not like Chinese food but my husband does so I am always looking for recipes that will please us both. This is delicious. The only change I make is to add some onion slices as I fry the broccoli. I will be making this often. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Yummy! I will make this again but will probably use less sugar as it was just a tad sweeter than I would like. I like the peppery taste too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      The meat was very tender, the broccolli done just right, not too much sauce that you end up adding tons of cornstarch to try to thicken, but was a little bland in flavor. Could use a little ginger or something to spice it up! Otherwise, very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef and Broccoli Stir-Fry

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1026.1
     
    Calories from Fat 849
    82%
    Total Fat 94.4 g
    145%
    Saturated Fat 35.2 g
    176%
    Cholesterol 112.3 mg
    37%
    Sodium 1409.5 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites