59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tweaked the recipe a bit for my tastes, and it came out very flavorful, and delicious. I added about 1/4 tsp of ground ginger to the marinade, and 1 large clove of minced garlic. I doubled the recipe, since I used a beef roast. I let it marinade for the 3 hours, and it was perfectly tender. I also chopped up a 1/2 an onion into strips to stir-fry with it. I just dumped all the meat into my pan, the onion, and the broccoli and fried it all up together for about 10-15 min. until the meat was done. Came out wonderful, and no other pan to clean up! The broccoli was frozen to begin with and was tender crisp when the meat was finished. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosevelt Mommy March 16, 2011

This was excellent!! Didn't have time to marinate the full 3 hours, so it was almost 1 hour. I used NY Strip (a little pricey, but worth it to me). Like another rater, I am too lazy to parboil and dirty another pan. I used about an inch of water in the bottom of the wok and cooked the broccoli a few minutes this way. I found that this made it so I didn't have to use as much oil when I stir fried the broccoli (will definitely use this technique again). I threw a handful of peanuts on the top of mine when done. This is going to be a favorite! I can't wait to try it again fully marinated!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loriannryland December 13, 2009

This was great! Hubby is allergic to oysters so I substituted black bean sauce in its place. I used sesame oil instead of vegetable oil. I marinade the meat during the day while I was gone, so for about 10 hrs. The meat was very tender and flavorful. I will certainly be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana December 09, 2009

Nice meal. The meat was very tender so I recommend marinating as directed. I doubled the recipe so that we would have leftovers and added onions to the batch. Next time I will cut back on the oyster sauce by a tablespoon or so. I would use 3 T sherry if doubling. Thanks dibs for a tasty meal that we enjoyed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana July 21, 2009

We also really enjoyed this. We marinated for about 7 hours. Used a sirloin roast for the meat. I doubled the amount of garlic. Everything else, we did exactly as the recipe called for. The meal went over really well. Everyone seemed to enjoy it! This is a really easy recipe and is very similar to the beef/broccoli you might get at a restaurant!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimke September 22, 2003

This was absolutely awesome! The beef was also VERY tender! First time that I made a beef stir-fry where the meat wasn't kinda chewy. The long marination is definitely the big key to this recipe. Will use this recipe exclusively from now on. Followed the recipe exactly. Easy and delicious! Served it with steamed Jasmine Rice. You definitely have to try this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilladyc August 23, 2003

I've now made this twice. It was wonderful with the beef and terrific with boneless pork loin too. The sauce is a little sweet, but well balanced. It's oh so good! One of the better make at home chinese dinners. I used an electric skillet and added red pepper strips the second time. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D July 18, 2014

Fabulous! (I'm crazy about fresh ginger so I added some finely minced into the marinade. Mmmm!) Thanks for posting this.<br/>Addendum: Made several times since first review. DH absolutely raves about it. This time I doubled the recipe (so I'd be sure to have leftovers). Browning that much beef in small batches took some extra time, but it was well rewarded. Thanks again. (Wish I could give it yet another 5 stars!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making April 14, 2014

I used pre-cut stir fry beef strips. I marinaded for 5 hours. Next time instead of going through all these steps, I'll simmer the beef for 1/2 hour to get it more tender and then just throw it all together in the same pan for 15-20 min. Was easy to make and tasted pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 November 03, 2012

This was really good, and the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that it wasn't a hit with the whole family. I doubled the recipe, but after reading some of the reviews, I did make some changes. I added garlic to the marinating mixture, and because I work all day, I did it in the morning and left it in the fridge all day. I added ginger and a sliced onion to the stir fry. I did not double the sugar or the oyster sauce thinking it might be too much, and I believe I was correct. I used sesame oil for the oil. I found my broccolli was still al dente, and that was a miss with some eaters. I used top round cut thin for sandwichs (bought it that way). I thought that there was a lot of meat as compared to broccoli. Finally, the calories for this dish are WAY off - not sure if it's because it says 3-4 servings, or because there's a bug at food.com, but when I put the very same recipe into the Calorie Count recipe tool with 4 servings, I got 328 calories a serving with 15.4g of fat - so not great, but not 94.4 grams!!! I will be making this again - for home-made Chinese food, this was one of the easier dishes I have made - doable for a weeknight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three January 31, 2012
Beef and Broccoli Stir-Fry