46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simple, quick and delicious! I used beef broth instead of water just because I had fresh broth on hand. I also reduced the salt as we're on a low salt diet. The family really enjoyed this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 December 27, 2011

This was good, but defintiely felt like it needed "something". I didn't add the sambal oelek though, so maybe that would have done it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassiaDawn October 23, 2010

It didn't do it for me, it tastes Oriental, but it definitely doesn't taste like the Chinese restaurant...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moe13a September 28, 2010

I threw in a few red pepper flakes and added just a wee bit more soy sauce. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus July 06, 2010

This was really good! I don't own a wok so I ended up just cooking this in a large skillet and it turned out just fine. I subbed in sriracha sauce for the sabbal oelek and used olive oil rather than peanut oil but otherwise followed the recipe. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiffanylynn444 June 30, 2010

We rarely eat beef anymore and when we do I want it to be special... this recipe will go in the keeper file to be specifically modified to our tastes! Additionally, I'll use this method for meat in any and all future stir fry dishes I prepare... I used the tapioca starch vs cornstarch and got the benefit of succulent tender beef and the velvety mouth feel in the sauce that you normally get with take out! I added a pinch of red pepper flakes for some heat and next time will add brown sugar for a note of sweetness. Finally, I'd like to speak to method particularly given some of the comments in the reviews... with the broccoli already in the wok, as per the instructions, I didn't find adding water to the pan to be either scary or dangerous ;) TY for the best attempt at Chinese I've ever made in my own kitchen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane R April 20, 2010

Delicious! My little ones gobbled it up! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flower Fairy February 22, 2010

Amazing!I'll be making this again!! Everyone that tried it asked for the recipe, so thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurgyJ February 03, 2010

I made this tonight for dinner. We liked it alot and it was a simple recipe to follow. I did add some mushrooms since I had some leftover from the other nights dinner. I will make this again, when the broccoli is abundant in the summer. thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 12, 2009

Great recipe, I loved it the first time I made and I came back a second time to find it and am so glad I did. I did not add the sambal oelek(don't know what that is) but I did everything else exactly according to the recipe and it was so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soda girl October 12, 2009
Beef and Broccoli