Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beef and Broccoli Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef and Broccoli

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2011

      Simple, quick and delicious! I used beef broth instead of water just because I had fresh broth on hand. I also reduced the salt as we're on a low salt diet. The family really enjoyed this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      This was good, but defintiely felt like it needed "something". I didn't add the sambal oelek though, so maybe that would have done it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      It didn't do it for me, it tastes Oriental, but it definitely doesn't taste like the Chinese restaurant...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I threw in a few red pepper flakes and added just a wee bit more soy sauce. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      This was really good! I don't own a wok so I ended up just cooking this in a large skillet and it turned out just fine. I subbed in sriracha sauce for the sabbal oelek and used olive oil rather than peanut oil but otherwise followed the recipe. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      We rarely eat beef anymore and when we do I want it to be special... this recipe will go in the keeper file to be specifically modified to our tastes! Additionally, I'll use this method for meat in any and all future stir fry dishes I prepare... I used the tapioca starch vs cornstarch and got the benefit of succulent tender beef and the velvety mouth feel in the sauce that you normally get with take out! I added a pinch of red pepper flakes for some heat and next time will add brown sugar for a note of sweetness. Finally, I'd like to speak to method particularly given some of the comments in the reviews... with the broccoli already in the wok, as per the instructions, I didn't find adding water to the pan to be either scary or dangerous ;) TY for the best attempt at Chinese I've ever made in my own kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Delicious! My little ones gobbled it up! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Amazing!I'll be making this again!! Everyone that tried it asked for the recipe, so thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I made this tonight for dinner. We liked it alot and it was a simple recipe to follow. I did add some mushrooms since I had some leftover from the other nights dinner. I will make this again, when the broccoli is abundant in the summer. thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Great recipe, I loved it the first time I made and I came back a second time to find it and am so glad I did. I did not add the sambal oelek(don't know what that is) but I did everything else exactly according to the recipe and it was so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Well, Uncle Bill - we both know, Yan CAN cook. This was very good. I couldn't find the sambal oelek, but I had some garlic chili sauce in my fridge, and used that since that was closest to the description given. And, I LOVED this. I like the fact that it is a smaller recipe, where I didn't have to do the brain work to cut a recipe in half. I had enough for supper tonight, and some for lunch tomorrow. I will be making this again. Thanks again for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Another one for the keeper file! I used frozen broccoli and steamed it in the microwave and used canola oil instead of peanut oil. My only problem with the recipe is that I found there wasn't enough sauce (I like there to be enough sauce to cover the noodles). I added extra water, soy sauce, and oil but it still wasn't enough. I usually add red pepper flakes to most of my dishes but I found that it wasn't necessary - it tasted good as is. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Automatic 5 stars for this dish. The whole family enjoyed it. I was surprised to find out that one of the ingredients wasn't "Oyster Sauce" because many of the Beef and Broccoli recipes I found online all included it. Regardless... a very tasty dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I will add my kudos to all the rest! Very simple to make and really nice flavour. I remember watching Steven Yan on tv years ago before there were many cooking shows on tv. He was always entertaining and had delicious recipes like this one. Thanks for the memories, Uncle Bill, and for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      DELICIOUS-a great addition to my special meal tonight! Fast, easy, and soooo flavorful. I made enough for 6-8 servings and the beef probably marinated closer to an hour. Really a crowd pleaser! Thank you for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      i subbed w/ chicken breasts. my picky husband enjoyed this and rated this a 5 meaning he'd like me to make this again. but i give it a 4 because i felt it was a little on the bland side. but we all really enjoyed dinner and i'm pretty sure i'll make this again for my husband. thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      I don't like beef, but I decided to try this anyway b/c it's my dh's favorite dish. I sliced VERY thinly across the grain (slightly frozen to make it easier). WOW, this tasted BETTER than the restaurant and was WAAAY cheaper! Beef was so tender. Thanks so much for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      I reduced the use of peanut oil by half to save on calories. I will cook broccoli with beef longer next time so that it takes on more of the flavor. Otherwise I LOVE this recipe. Very quick easy and delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      Low on euro, i ventered out to make my own chinese food. hence, i made this one. my husband said it was delicious! i will definitely keep this recipe. the only thing i would try next time is to maybe give it a bit more flavor. but still without a doubt, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This is very good!! It was a little more labor intensive (dishes mostly) than I would like on a weeknight, but that was my fault for not reading the recipe before starting. lol. I added a red bell pepper and extra soy sauce and sesame oil. Yum! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef and Broccoli

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 593.2
     
    Calories from Fat 353
    59%
    Total Fat 39.2 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 91.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1258.2 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 38.8 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes