8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Beef and Broccoli is by far one of my very favorite meals and this recipe didn't disappoint. I tripled the sauce so that I would have enough to serve this over rice and it was so good. I really, really loved this and am sure I will be making this again and again. It was much easier than other versions I have tried and I thought it tasted closer to the beef and broccoli we get at our local Chinese restaurant. Thanks for a new family favorite Lavender Lynn. Made for PAC Spring 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely May 09, 2014

This was delicious! I tripled the recipe, and then tripled the sauce (so I made 9xs the amount of sauce) after reading the reviews that it was dry. I ended up with a massive pot of deliciousness! My husband absolutely loved this recipe! I refrigerated the finished recipe, and put it in my crock pot the following morning on high for 2.5 hours. The broccoli was a little mushy, but my husband said it tasted even better after the flavors melded more. For ZWT6 N.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel May 24, 2010

This is really delicious, but the directions aren't as clear as they could be. Where is the ginger supposed to go in? I mixed grated ginger with the finishing sauce, and it was very tasty. I also couldn't help adding in just a bit of green onion, which I added at the tail end of the beef cooking time. I picked up on the flavor of the cornstarch, but my family didn't -- or at least they didn't say anything. Overall, this is very good. With a few minor changes, this could easily be a 5-star recipe. Thanks, Lavender for a really yummy dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too April 15, 2008

This is an excellent "beginning" for a recipe but we hade quite some problems with the proportions of the sauce and the ingredients, so I will try and explain why I think this is a recipe in progress and not yet a finished result. DH made this and he is not an improvise style cook, so followed the recipe to the letter. One slice of gingerroot was all we got.. sorry but we think it needs LOTS more.. and finely grated instead of sliced would spead that delicious taste further because this is a stir fry and not on the heat for long. The marinade consisted of 2 1/2 tablespoons of liqid ingedients, add the sugar and it pretty much dissapeared, we only used half the meat and even then, there simply wasn't enough marinade to go around. The liquid ingredients for the cornflour/cornstarch mixture also only total 2 1/2 tablespoons and I also think as other reviewers did that more liquid is needed to go with the cornflour. More white wine and soy sauce in the marinade would have been excellent, up the sesame to a full teaspoon, also maybe some finely diced green (spring) onions, a lot more ginger (minced) and maybe a splash of sherry and vinegar, and a dash of freshly ground pepper to bring out the flavours more. THAT is what we will be experiementing with next time, and from there we will see where we will go. Please see my rating system: 3 lovely stars for a recipe that DOES taste good, but where we think some changes in the qualtities of the ingredients could definiately change this from a Good recipe to a Fabulous one. Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch April 04, 2008

Nice recipe but was not quite like the same as in Chinese restaurants--difference in sauce. The broccoli was tasty, but the beef needed longer cooking time. Prepared for Chinese/Vietnamese Tag Game Feb 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook February 13, 2008

I really like the sesame oil in this. But I love the ginger, next time I'll slice up more and add. The only thing I did not like was too much cornstarch. So I doubled the water and did not add any more starch in the finishing touch. I'll only use 1/2 tablespoon next time. I will make this again with those changes. Made for *1 2 3 Hit Wonders* game 2007

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J December 27, 2007

This dish was very good. It came together very quickly and easily--I used round steak, as suggested, and sunflower oil for the oil. I totally forgot to add the ginger, but otherwise followed the recipe pretty exactly. Even w/o the ginger, it was very tasty and will be made again. Thanks Lavender for an easy and tasty meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy November 01, 2007

Great! My DH doesn't like broccoli and the only way I can get him to eat it is in a stir-fry. He had 2 big helpings of this! I used flank steak and this went together very quickly. I was unsure where to add the ginger, so I minced it and added it to flavor the oil right before I stir-fried the beef. Thanks Lynn for another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme September 17, 2007
Beef and Broccoli