10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I gave this recipe 3 stars. Why I liked this casserole why my hubby didn't think it was as flavorful as another recipe I used. My 9 yrs old newphew didn't like it. We didn't care for having to wait 20 minutes for it to thicken. Overall I would have it again. Thanks for posting a good recipe! Christine

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut January 22, 2012

My husband told me to add this to our favorites so obviously it was a hit. Only change I made was to leave out the cream of celery soup... so I just used one can of cream of mushroom soup and it was plenty creamy. It wasn't quite hot enough at 20 minutes so I baked it a little longer. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee November 10, 2011

My family loves, loves, loves this recipe! It has been added to my casserole rotation! The only changes that I make to the recipe when I make it are #1. I use ground chicken or turkey in place of the hamburger (my family does not eat red meat and #2. Sometimes I add veggies to the mix. Corn, green beans, and mushrooms all work great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M&M's Mommy November 02, 2010

I had never tried Tater Tot Casserole, although a former boss of mine used to longingly reminisce about her Grandmother's. I figured I would try this and it was really good "comfort" food. I added onion to the hamburger, and seasoned with garlic, pepper and salt, plus a touch of ground chipotle pepper (we like spicy!) and then I sprinkled salt and hot paprika over the tater tots. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a T. My hubby asked me to put it into the dinner rotation. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MJaz June 18, 2010

I haven't made this recipe but I have one a lot like it. I use 2 cans cream of mushroom instead of the cream of celery and I add a dash of garlic. We are garlic lovers though. But this is always great. Kids love this thing and it makes tons of leftovers if there are only 2 of you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CelticLady January 29, 2010

This is always a hit at my house. Even my dd, who hates all things potato, will risk eating a tater tot piece just so she can have more of the "good stuff". We add a veggie or 2 to the mix. Pairs nicely with a small salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adymommy December 09, 2009

Great recipe, I got a slight variation from another Army wife years ago...We put a layer of tots on the bottom of the dish then the meat/soup mixture then cheese, and then do it again...it's really yummy that way too. Oh and we use cream of potato soup and I have mixed with it cheddar cheese soup and cream of celery too. YummY! : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
txn_mommy November 23, 2009

This was awesome. I subbed the hamburger for pinto beans because I'm vegetarian, and I'm sure there's tons of other things I can put in too. Thanks for sharing, it makes a really hearty meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the80srule October 05, 2009

Pretty good....I grew up with a variation on this dish--- After you put the beef on the bottopm, top with a layer of green beans, THEN the soup mixture---while cheddar is yummy :), my mother and grandmother made it with velveeta (yes, I am so from the midwest!) and then a little season-all on top of the tatertots :) So yummy, so many memories :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MasieLynnn October 05, 2009

Makes a great meal when served with a salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thesnailer September 14, 2009
Becky's Tater Tot Casserole