Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bechamel - Basic White Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bechamel - Basic White Sauce

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2010

      Delicious! I love the infusion of onions and bay leaf (I didn't use peppercorns because I didn't have them) and I added one garlic clove to the infusion. Great flavor. I skipped the nutmeg and I used this sauce on a pizza and I am going to make this again to serve on pasta. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      thanks for the proportions. I used the recipe to make 4.5 cups of condensed mushroom soup for a broccoli bake. I found that 8 tbls of flour and 8 of butter were perfect with one cup of sauteed mushrooms. I will always used this quantity for my 3.2L baking dish with. Before it was guess work and I was always nervous, but now I am confident of my sauce being thick enough and the right quantity to cover the veggies. Thanks a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      I drizzled the white sauce over the butternut squash ravioli. I did substitute Vanilla Almond Milk for milk and it was mildly nutty and delicious! Next time would just top it with some crushed pecans :) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      Fabulous and foolproof ... the nutmeg is what I most remember when I used to make this a HUNDRED years ago. Don't be afraid of using the nutmeg I always use freshly grated and it brings this basic sauce to another level. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      Simple & perfect for anything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      I also loved the infusions and I also added garlic. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      Great tasting! I didn't use all the fancy stuff like Nutmeg and Peppercorns, but it still turned out brilliant. I loved how this recipe mentioned infusing onions. Great idea! However, it was clumpy but that is normal when I make white sauce...any suggestions to have a less clumpier sauce?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Great sauce! Made a Gluten-Free version using King Arthur's flour. Turned out delicious with excellent consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Made the sauce with soy milk today and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

    • on March 01, 2009

      I used this in a recipe I just posted: Tuna and Quinoa Cake. I think it MADE the recipe. I love Hollandaise, but this may just replace it at home for me, especially since I suck at making Hollandaise... Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Minus the nutmet, I used this sauce to make Tarragon Chicken with great results! This sauce can be used many ways. Be creative! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Hello from Portugal, this is indeed a lovely sauce I make it often, the only difference in mine is that I add in a raw egg yolk in the end, and mix really well. It gives it a creamer texter. Another good receipe you've posted Kiwidutch, Thank-you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

    • on December 03, 2008

      Superbly flavoursome bechamel sauce; and wonderfully clear instructions made this just so easy to make - which means I'll be coming back to this recipe again and again. On this occasion, I used this sauce as a yummy topping for a pasta and mushroom bake. Thank you for sharing this recipe, kiwidutch. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Wow! I've never made it quite this way before with the scalded infused milk... so savory and smooth. And the nutmeg adds just the right compexity. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      This is exactly how I learnt to make this at college,except we stuck the bayleaf to the onion with a clove.This is a masterclass in how to prepare the perfect bechamel,and I am ashamed to say that it has been many years since I bothered to scald and infuse the milk.I must admit that it is worth the teeny bit of extra effort required,as the infusion of the onion and bay do make a difference. This is not a difficult sauce to master by any means and it's well worth learning how to do it properly,especially as it's the basis of many other sauces. Thank you for posting.Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

    • on November 21, 2007

      I used this recipe for my Thanksgiving last year and neglected to rate it. The milk infusion creats an increased level of flavor and compliments the vegetables. I am using it again this year. Thanx Kiwidutch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      A very nice and basic sauce. Thank you for sharing kiwidutch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bechamel - Basic White Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.8
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    66%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 26.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 40.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites