Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beautiful Burger Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beautiful Burger Buns

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2004

      Well worth the effort! I used my breadmaker to prepare the dough which ended up being a little messy as the dough rose too well - so be warned! 8 decent sized buns is the yield and they baked very well and tasted very good. Definitely worth trying if you are doing the homemade burger thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      These were very simple to make and very tasty. I proofed the yeast in warm water with a pinch of sugar out of the 1/4 cup called for and then proceeded with step one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      i just bought the book, and i had to try these, because of all the great reviews. i used active dry yeast, which i proofed with the 1 cup of water, slightly warmed. then i just proceed on from there. i did have to use more flour than specified (humid singapore weather); i weighed it -about 14 1/2 ounce. try not to omit the onion powder (1 tsp), it gives a wonderful taste to these. i made them into 10 mini pig-in-blankets, and 6 cheddar rolls (rolled small pcs of dough around cubed cheese & topped with bits of cheese) and 1 mini cinnamon raisin loaf. totally yummy. the dough is quite sticky to work with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      I kind of rushed this recipe so I went with the shortest time for each step, they were a little harder than normal buns. My hubby thought they were great, my daughter, who is newly wearing braces, had a little trouble. I liked the taste and the fact that I did not have to run to the store to get buns. The leftovers also went very well with the spaghetti we had for dinner the next night. I will definatley make these again and take a little more time. thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      Definitely 5+ stars. The texture of these buns are fantastic.I don't think I will go back to store bought burger buns. These were very easy to make. I warmed the water and the butter in the microwave to lukewarm and mixed the egg into this before adding to the dry ingredients. I used the onion powder in the batter. Thanks for the great recipe. Rita

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      The rolls are not light enough for hamburger rolls. It tasted like my homemade bread. If I make it again I would add some milk to the water and make a much softer even sticky dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Simple and delicious! I only made 1/2 the recipe, proofed the yeast in warm water first and used egg substitute and onion flakes. Great light, soft texture inside with a outer texture of perfect firmness. Quick to bake up too. Will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I was a bit worried that these would turn out like 40 Minute Hamburger Buns in texture. However, they turned out nicely squishy instead of dense. The dough was still very hard to work with. I used my mixer and did a lot of "plopping." Next time I will probably make more effort to wet or flour my hands to possibly make them rounder in the shaping step - more like balls than shapeless lumps. Also, since the measured yeast makes it easy, I will probably halve the recipe so there will not be leftovers. The density seems to increase when they are stored and no one has really wanted the extras.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Yummy! I just pulled mine out of the oven, and they tast wonderful. I will deffenatly keep this and make it again. The onion flavor is great. I brushed mine with a little butter before sticking them in the oven, and sprinkled some sesame seeds on them. I might try to make this in a regular loaf, so that I can eat it all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Excellent recipe, I didn't follow it to the letter, but took in the egg, slightly more sugar than normal and left out the onion but I got a soft roll rather than the crusty ones I've been getting when baking. These have the perfect texture. To get good rounds I rolled the dough out gently in one direction and cut rounds out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      These were fantastic! The texture was perfect and the onion and onion powder made for a tasty bun. I didn't change a thing. I will be using this recipe over and over. Thanks so much for posting. Saderbee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I too used the whole wheat flour, and they came out so good! We used them in a variety of ways including burgers, tuna sandwiches and grilled cheese and tomatoe sandwiches, flipped inside out and buttered, then toasted in my favorite frying pan till the cheese was dripping down the side of the roll and melted! Awesome rolls and a recipe I will be making again very soon. So much better than store bought, and using the whole wheat flour so much healthier too! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      I was going through my main cookbook and I came across this recipe. I had already made it off of the King Arthur web site. These are very good. I used 1 cup of King Arthur white whole wheat flour for 1 cup of white King Arthur unbleached. Some reviewers commented they were dense. I suspect that people are just dipping their measuring cups into the flour to measure flour. You need to fluff the flour, lightly scoop it into your cup and lightly level off. This is the technique that King Arthur uses to develop their recipes. Try doing that and see if it doesn't make a difference. I also use parchment paper to bake them on. Gives superior results and saves a mess. Hey Jude, thanks for taking the time to post this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      I prepared these buns for Uncle Bill's Hamburger Patties but they were too dense for hamburger buns. I used 3 and froze the rest because they will be tasty as a meal bun toasted with butter on them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Easy! Easy! Easy! Great tasting too! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      I made these rolls yesterday and loved them,being in England i did worry about the measurements but with a bit of help from the message board with the conversions on i got there.If it helps anybody else in the same situation i used 455g of strong bread flour,30g of butter,35g sugar.I put all the ingredients in my breadmaker on dough cycle so it did all the hard work,and then shaped them into balls and placed close together on my round pampered chef stone and left to rise for an hour whilst i went to work,popped in the oven to bake.Everyone loved them,had them with crisp chicken burgers with lemon mayo.My son took the leftovers for school lunch today thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      The dough is very easy to work with. I used milk instead of water to add flavor to the bread. I also used 1 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder. I also brush them with an egg an sprinkle on top some sesame seeds. The dough baked up nice and soft and very delicious. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      I've been making these for years and love them! My recipe (and the one on the King Arthur web site) calls for 3 tsp yeast. For sandwich rolls I use two cups of whole wheat flour and 1 1/4 cups of white flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      I guess these just weren't what we expected them to be. They seemed more like sturdy rolls than hamburger buns. I'm looking for a hamburger bun that is heavy enough to handle the hamburger meat, etc. but isn't so heavy that it takes away from the whole burger itself. This recipe is good and easy but not quite what we'd like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      Oh my these were so good, I keep sneaking a bite off one of the buns while they are cooling..lol so good I followed the recipe to the tee, I did proof the yeast with 1 tsp of sugar and warmed the water before adding to the other ingredients, then used my stand mixer and using the regular hook- I let it beat for about 3 minutes. I will be making these rolls all the time for hamburgers as well as dinner rolls. 5 stars easy and fool proof thanks for sharing/ now I am off to finish the rest of my warm bun. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beautiful Burger Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (784 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.3
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    14%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 34.0 mg
    11%
    Sodium 322.2 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites