Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beautiful Bagels - (using bread machine to make the dough) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beautiful Bagels - (using bread machine to make the dough)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2012

      My husband and my daughter just made these for lunch. They switched the quantity of white flour for whole wheat (so it was 2:1 white/wholewheat flour) and added raisins and cinnamon to half of the dough and they all turned out amazingly!!! Will definitely be making these again and again! Thank you for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Made these for the first time last week and am making them again today. I changed the topping and made 1/2 with cinnamon and coarse sugar; the other half I sprinkled with a sea salt blend. Both were great and all are gone. Thanks for a great and easy reccipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      We switched the topping to garlic salt and asiago cheese. Mmmmmmm they were very successful and delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      This was my first attempt at making homemade bagels, but I must say that store bagels never looked appetizing enough for me to even attempt to taste, so I've never tasted store bought bagels before. After I pulled these beauties out of my oven, I could barely wait to sink my teeth in them...SUCCESS!!! They were yummy, my whole family loved these bagels.Thanks Karin for sharing this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      These were awesome!! Didn't take too long and taste great. I followed the recipe to a "t", and added dehydrated blueberries to them so they would be blueberry bagels. My oldest son loves blueberry bagels and he told me never to buy them at the store again after tasting these. Thanks for a great recipe. I will be making these on a regular basis!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      Very good bagels but I messed up and will try again. Forgot to put the egg on and seeds before baking. Also thought 220 deg C was 400 deg F. oops. Will bake at the correct temp.(425) next time. Because of the wrong temp. Mine took much longer to bake. (35 min.) Still very good and DH has eaten two of them already.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      AMAZING - if you are looking at this recipe - stop and make it - you will consider opening a bakery!! Couldn't be easier using the bread machine to make the dough. I did let them rise 30 minutes on after shaping as they don't rise in the boiling/baking process. Have fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      These smelled great and looked great and tasted pretty good out of the oven. However, once toasted, they had a rather chewy and elastic texture. I wonder if this might be because there is no added fat (margarine, oil etc.)? These are best eaten the day they are made, I think. An ok recipe, but I probably won't be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      I made these today, and all I can say is FABULOUS!! I made them cinnamon raison and they turned out absolutely devine!! No more store bought here, thank you so much , I will be making these again very soon!!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      This is the best bagel recipe I have ever tried and belive me I have tried many. These are just the way a bagel should be . Thanks for a gread recipe. Jendajay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Holy mackeral! Fantastic! I didn't know you could make bagels like this at home. I used half whole wheat flour and half bread flour then used the recipe as otherwise written. My bagels are beautiful! I rolled each piece into a snake about 8" long with tapered ends, moistened EACH end with water, and overlapped them. They held perfectly. Don't overlook the oiled paper as it is important as I realized after forgetting that part. My whole family thanks you for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      Thank you thank you for such a simple and delicious recipe. My children ate all 8 bagels at once and said they did not need any spreads on they were so good. The adults did not get a look in... lol...I love the fact that these bagels do not have added fat and are relatively healthy with the wholewheat flour and honey. My bagels were dimpled but still delicious and I did have to use quite a bit of flour to knead to prevent sticking. I would also suggest draining the bagels on a rack rather than paper towel to remove as much water as possible. Wendy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      This is my first time making bagels, and they turned out wonderfully! I have put off ever trying them, because they looked too hard. Oh not so! These were easy and came out so yummy. Everyone here has decided there will be no more store bought bagels in this house :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      I had some trouble with this recipe, which is why I am not rating it. Not realizing the importance of gluten flour, I didn't use it because I didn't have it. Also, I didn't have enough AP flour so I subbed some WW pastry flour. Add to those the fact that I tried boiling all the bagels at once in a pan that wasn't nearly big enough, and you've got a recipe for disaster. Although they didn't come out quite right, the flavor was pretty good and I intend to try them again, only this time actually following the recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      I followed the recipe exactly. Baked them for about 18 minutes at 425 F. They came out great! Oh, and I did the "poke a hole through a dough ball" shaping method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      Fabulous recipe and easy enough to do by hand. I've been afraid of making bagels because I thought it was too difficult but this has made me change my mind. Next time I will have to double the recipe since these didn't last long. I did use bread flour instead of all purpose flour, and skipped the gluten. These can be frozen and reheated and it still taste great (I managed to hide a couple..lol) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      Well....they weren't BEAUTIFUL......but they were delicious, lol. I don't think I paid enough attention to my rolling technique, because some of them were a bit "bumpy" on the outside (hence, the lack of "beauty")and some of them weren't pinched together adequately enough, so it was obvious where they were joined together. I used 2 cups of whole wheat and one cup of all purpose flour (trying to be healthy) The flavor and texture was wonderful, and produced a dense, chewey bagel that is full of good carbs and fiber, and very filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      I really liked these. They were super moist and chewy. Perfect for breakfast! One thing I forgot to do was wet the dough when I connected the circle. Oops! Half of them turned out to be crescents. ;o) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      The bagels are really beautiful. I did change a few things. I shaped them by poking a hole in the middle of each piece. And I increased the proportion of whole wheat flour to a half amount of all flour. I recommend them highly. I made the bagels for my DH, but ended up eating them myself. Thank you for posting this, Karin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      I've been making bagels by hand for years, and they have never come out like these. It's a great recipe - idiot proof and tasty. My only problem is there are none left 5 minutes after I get them out of the oven. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beautiful Bagels - (using bread machine to make the dough)

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.5
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    87%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 439.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten flour

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes