16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i always forget how decadent a bloody mary becomes once you ADD the vodka! i am a self-admitted bloody mary FIEND .. i have looked at every recipe on this site, over and over again. i also sometimes forget that just because a recipe doesn't already have umpteen-million-some reviews, that it should be discounted. I. LOVE. THIS! i am hesitant to rate it, because I made some of my own additions (a liberal helping of fresh lemon juice, a heaping scoop or so of horseradish, more than a pinch of celery salt, and halved the vinegar with pickle juice..), but the base value recipe is definitely worth giving testament to. Until today, the best bloody mary I'd ever even had was (sadly?) in an airport [it was pretty divine..]. But, that's old news. THANK YOU!! ..ps- i also used Mott's Vegetable Medley, in place of the V8, and garnished with a pickled okra :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Froggus. June 14, 2011

okay, I love Bloody Marys but have never been able to make my own. DH liked this one. What I did differently was to substitute dill pickle juice for the vinegar, added a couple of liberal shakes of celery salt, and squeezed a good sized wedge of lime into the drinks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheesehead January 18, 2009

Wow, this stuff rocks! It is better than my favorite expensive store brand. I made the recipe as written, with the following 2 changes: I used spicy hot V-8 instead of the regular <br/>V-8 and I used half white vinegar and half dill pickle juice (Claussen brand) to equal 1/3c. as written in the recipe. I plan on setting up a Bloody Mary bar for a brunch this Sunday and wanted to test this recipe. It more than passes with flying colors!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JudyCC December 16, 2013

I added a couple of heaping tablespoons of horseradish to this mix for a little added kick... and boy did it kick!!! Absolutely delicious! I don't think I'll ever buy a mix from the store again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetmaureen April 19, 2011

Great bloody mary base. Premade mixes are so expensive for what they consist of. We like to garnish our drinks with celery and the big green olives. I sometimes kick this up with extra hot sauce and of course a bit of horseradish. Thanks for posting a delicious & economical recipe !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redwine August 22, 2013

Great bloody mary mix! A little bit salty for me, but I tampered it with some fresh limes.....and if you add enough vodka, you dilute the saltiness! Thanks for sharing! Made for Best of 2012 tag game!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 16, 2013

I made this for a football tailgate party and it was a hit! I did add extra hot sauce, celery salt and horseradish...delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan November 12, 2012

This was very well received at our party! People were even drinking it without the vodka. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta July 08, 2011

Excellent recipe. It is thick and spicy and really easy to prepare. Thanks for this Victoryred.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith November 27, 2010

Awesome bloody mary mix! I made up a pitcher of these and took over to our neighbors house - all bloody mary fans. It was unanimous - the best bloody mary's we've ever had! Of couse, I then had to share the recipe. :) Thank you for sharing this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth A. June 14, 2009
Beau Rivage Bloody Mary Mix