9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! Moist and very sweet. This recipe is a keeper for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shannonlamp April 21, 2012

Very moist and flavorful. I cut the recipe in half (used 1 whole egg and 1 egg white) and cut sugar to 3/4 cup for one loaf. Made for tag game at kittencalskitchen.com

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey January 16, 2011

these turned out wonderful! I used half oil and half melted butter I also increased the vanilla to 1 tablespoon and baked in two 8x4 inch loaf pans, this was made for KK's forum tag game and thoroughly enjoyed, thanks PD!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen August 31, 2010

Very moist and delicious! I really liked the addition of the coconut and pineapple. As I usually do, I swapped out 3/4 cup of the oil for unsweetened applesauce and mixed it with the remaining 1/2 of oil to cut the fat. I also reduced to the sugar to 1 1/2 cups to compensate for the sweetness of the applesauce. The bread was still a little on the sweet side, so I probably could have reduced it even more. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) August 23, 2013

5 stars plus some ! This turned out perfectly and I did as others and cut oil in half and added pear puree as a sub. Cooking time was exact and recipe was very, very easy. Divine to eat too !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew August 21, 2010

Yummy, yummy, yummy!! Bea sure knows banana bread! This came together so quickly, and is absolutely delicious. I did add in 1/2 cup of apple sauce and reduced the oil by that amount, with great results. i also sprinkled the top with Starrynews' Spiced Sugar - what a delicious addition. My Mom always sprinkled white sugar or cinnamon sugar on top of banana bread because it adds a nice sweet crunch to the top. I got one 8x4 loaf and four mini loaves from the recipe. Made for PRMR Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen August 16, 2010

This is very good!I made as directed and don't think it came out too sweet. Mine cooked up in 1 hour and 9 minutes; I couldn't wait for it to cool completely, I had to have a piece and it was perfectly cooked and moist. I am glad it made 2 loaves!! Will make again! Made for 1-2-3-Hits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH July 30, 2010

Just enjoyed a slice of this hot out of the oven and felt like I was transported to the tropics after a cold rainy weekend! Like a previous reviewer, I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and it was enough for me. Also, I subbed sugar-free applesauce in place of the vegetable oil to make it a bit healthier. I live in Colorado, and it took an hour at 350 to bake. Thanks Pink for a great recipe that I will enjoy for breakfast often! Made for Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway June 13, 2010

Loved this bread! I've been looking for a really good bananna bread that is also healthy. I did use less sugar (1 1/2 cups), and it turned out perfect. I will be making this at least once a week. A good breakfast bread, too. DH ate three pieces this morning! Yummy!! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dozey doats November 23, 2008
Bea's Hawaiian Banana Bread