9 Reviews

My partner and I enjoyed this hearty dish very much!! Like another reviewer, this was my first time with kale too. It's a very tough green, but cooked down quite well in the 15 minutes recommended. Served this with some whole grain bread and an apple/pear salad for dessert. Make you wanna lick you elbows :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Boy-I-Be Illinois December 27, 2007

This is a really, really great recipe. It was my first try at Kale, and quite a success. I didn't have any rice, so I use Orzo pasta instead. Yum. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momof2pugz April 24, 2007

This is fantastic!! We love it!! (And that includes my three-year-old! 8)) I used kale, black beans, and 1/4 t red pepper flakes. I would serve this to vegetarian guests. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks so much Babs! This will become a staple in our house! Always excited to find hearty, healthy vegetarian dishes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LA28 August 28, 2006

There's a reason this recipe has so many high ratings; it's wonderful - and so simple to put together. I used collards as my greens and cooked the entire dish for 1 1/2hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea June 19, 2006

Went so well with our meal! I made it with spinach and two cans of kidney beans and it was excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissHermes February 06, 2006

Wonderful dish! Hearty, healthy and great on a cold night. Comfort food at its best! We don't serve it over rice. We like it just the way it is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aimee8 December 30, 2005

I have made this alot during the winter. Great with a crusty bread. We put it over brown or white rice. Really good and also very easy to make. My husband loves this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceci Miller April 05, 2002

This delightful dish is a specialty of The Heaping Bowl and Brew in Atlanta, GA. Beans and Greens makes a hearty, healthy meal and you will enjoy the magnificent taste combination. I recommend making this dish with kale as it maintains its structure nicely when cooked. The tart taste that is its own combines with the herbes du provence and is carried on the hearty structure of the leaf for your enjoyment. I should add that my heart healthy diet requires me to watch sodium carefully. The sodium content of this dish can be greatly reduced by using a sodium-free chicken broth powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joe Hinds January 07, 2002
Beans and Greens of Provence