Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beans and Greens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beans and Greens

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2002

      This has been a main stay in my Italian family for years. We use swiss chard instead of the lettuce and we add some hot Italian sausage and a little tomato sauce. We also use precooked potato cut in chunks when we don't have white beans.It is wonderful when spiced up with extra red pepper flakes. My grandmother always called it Minestra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      I have made this particular recipe for years. I am Italian, and my Mom made this. We all love it. I like it with spinach or swiss chard. DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      This gets major brownie points for being the only greens recipe my kids have ever eaten! It was great! I used Great Northern beans, & the romaine of the original recipe. One caveat - my kids tried to give this 4 stars because they said it had too much pepper, but I think the problem was mine. I forgot the salt & pepper until I had put the greens in the pot, so I think some pieces of lettuce wound up with whopping amounts of pepper stuck to them. Next time I will have to stir it in *before* I put the greens in. Oops! I also have to note that I used 2 c. water & a Knorr chicken bouillon cube.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2002

      This is a great recipe! I used escarole for the greens and left out the onion because that is how I am used to making this dish. I will definitely make this again, but with broth as an ingredient, I don't think the extra salt is necessary so I will omit that also. Absolutely awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      Really good, filling soup. We were so surprised by the taste with the romaine lettuce, but we will probably try it with spinach next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      This is simple and elegant served with fresh french bread. I had to throw together a meal for some out of town guests and they raved about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      Yummy! I added a splash of white wine near the end to give it some punch. I'll make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      zoyie, Wonderful Recipe! Fixed it with the romaine. Can't wait to have again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      This is super easy, which I like, and it's super delicious! It's also very easy to put your own spin on it, by adding sausage or changing the type of greens. Also, adjust the salt and pepper to taste. Was looking for a simple and healthy meal for my "meat & potatoes" husband and myself. This fit the bill perfectly! I work 6 days a week, so I like recipes that are simple without complicated ingredients & procedures. Could not ask for a better one dish meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2012

      We lived outside of the very-Italian city of Utica, New York, for 5 years, where we were introduced to this classic dish. In Utica, it was always made with escarole; however, it *is* delicious (and less expensive) made with Romaine! Per your options, I added maybe 1/2 a tablespoon of tomato paste and a heaping half-teaspoon of red pepper flakes: perfect! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      I use Kale and it worked GREAT! I am trying to eat more healthy and this is 100% approved by the family! It is good for you, easy to make, and tasts great. What more can you ask for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      Sorry I forgot to review this recipe. Beans and greens are a real western NY, Italian treat! We usually add some precooked sweet sausage and a little bit(1/2 to 3/4C ) of marinara sauce. Love using the romaine. This is a great budget meal that stretches and stretches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      I've been making this for awhile as an easy low cal, meatless meal. My changes are that I use collard greens, sub in 1/2 cup white wine for some of the broth, add some red pepper flakes at the beginning and cook a LOT longer than 20 minutes. I like the greens really mushy. I'll even add some extra broth and cook for awhile with the lid off to reduce the broth even more and get more yummy flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      Wow! My 3 year old just ate beans and spinach! This recipe was delicious and so simple. I used spinach instead of romaine; and I served it with toasted cheesy bread. The only complaint I have is it was a little too salty even though I didn't add any salt. But I can fix that using no salt beans. This can be a meatless dinner or a side dish. We loved it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      So easy, delicious & healthy! The entire family ate it up! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Great Recipe - Tasted great, quick to make, and I'm a beginner! ;) THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      This was a big hit especially with my husband and son. I used veggie broth and cannelini beans (white kidney).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      Oh. My. Gosh. This was so simple and delicious. I used up a bunch of nearly-expired romaine lettuce purchased a few weeks ago. The colors of this dish are striking, with the white of the beans, the gold of the broth, and the deep green of the lettuce. It tastes even better than it looks, and it's a very filling side dish, which pleasantly surprised me. The only thing I would change is to chop the lettuce leaves into quarters. They were a bit unwieldy for me, and I cut them in half as I ate. I used no extra salt or pepper, and no cheese either. I could very well eat this as a meal in itself. THank you for sharing an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      When I first started cooking this, my fiance was like, "Ew, this looked gross." But, then he tasted it, and loved it! (showed him) Never cooked romaine lettuce before- thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      Great recipe. Being Italian I have been making this for quite some time. For a change with a zing use Escarole and Curly Endive. Also add 1 link of sweet Italain sausage cut into pieces and 1 hunk of Peppeorini cut into cubes. Enjoy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beans and Greens

    Serving Size: 1 (493 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 321.8
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    24%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 681.8 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 15.7 g
    62%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 18.8 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites