20 Reviews

This has been a main stay in my Italian family for years. We use swiss chard instead of the lettuce and we add some hot Italian sausage and a little tomato sauce. We also use precooked potato cut in chunks when we don't have white beans.It is wonderful when spiced up with extra red pepper flakes. My grandmother always called it Minestra.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judith August 29, 2002

I have made this particular recipe for years. I am Italian, and my Mom made this. We all love it. I like it with spinach or swiss chard. DELICIOUS!!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat McCardle July 03, 2002

This gets major brownie points for being the only greens recipe my kids have ever eaten! It was great! I used Great Northern beans, & the romaine of the original recipe. One caveat - my kids tried to give this 4 stars because they said it had too much pepper, but I think the problem was mine. I forgot the salt & pepper until I had put the greens in the pot, so I think some pieces of lettuce wound up with whopping amounts of pepper stuck to them. Next time I will have to stir it in *before* I put the greens in. Oops! I also have to note that I used 2 c. water & a Knorr chicken bouillon cube.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch September 24, 2002

This is a great recipe! I used escarole for the greens and left out the onion because that is how I am used to making this dish. I will definitely make this again, but with broth as an ingredient, I don't think the extra salt is necessary so I will omit that also. Absolutely awesome recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie December 04, 2002

Really good, filling soup. We were so surprised by the taste with the romaine lettuce, but we will probably try it with spinach next time. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midge Plourde January 25, 2003

This is simple and elegant served with fresh french bread. I had to throw together a meal for some out of town guests and they raved about it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.M. Collins December 27, 2002

Sorry I forgot to review this recipe. Beans and greens are a real western NY, Italian treat! We usually add some precooked sweet sausage and a little bit(1/2 to 3/4C ) of marinara sauce. Love using the romaine. This is a great budget meal that stretches and stretches!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 November 28, 2011

I've been making this for awhile as an easy low cal, meatless meal. My changes are that I use collard greens, sub in 1/2 cup white wine for some of the broth, add some red pepper flakes at the beginning and cook a LOT longer than 20 minutes. I like the greens really mushy. I'll even add some extra broth and cook for awhile with the lid off to reduce the broth even more and get more yummy flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joeknee February 13, 2011

Yummy! I added a splash of white wine near the end to give it some punch. I'll make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sidMILB June 04, 2003

zoyie, Wonderful Recipe! Fixed it with the romaine. Can't wait to have again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoyie June 04, 2003
Beans and Greens