Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beans 101 - Beans and Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beans 101 - Beans and Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2009

      When I made this yesterday for a friend, she called me and said, "Girl, you can make a pot of beans!" That says it all. This was really good and easy to follow. I cooked mine in the crockpot all day on low (about 9 1/2 hours). I also mashed some of the beans with a masher to thicken the sauce. EXCELLENT! I will definitely use this recipe again and again as it is the best bean recipe I have tried. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Just got done eating a bowl. These were really good! Mine were really soupy after simmering for 4 hours, so I added a cup and a half of rice, and 25 minutes later, it is nice and thick and a wonderful meal. Thanks for sharing. Only thing other than the rice that I changed was to add in some hot sauce and more cayenne pepper. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      Thanks for the delicious bean recipe that the whole family enjoyed. I didn't change anything in the recipe & I'm glad I didn't. I served them with cornbread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Can't believe I never rated this! Have made several times. Last time I was short on time, had lots of ham (no hock). Did the quick method for the beans and chopped up the ham. Cooked the whole thing on med-low, which kept it at a very low boil, for 1.5 hours, and it was still fantastic! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I followed this recipe exactly as it was except I didn't add any salt whatsoever and it was just awesome. Served it with sweet homemade corn bread. Fantastic. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      this is the way i make my beans i do cook mine in the slow cooker and use zemmo's hot sausage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      I'm almost 60 and also was raised on cornbread and beans. I make them once a week and have all my life I guess. I change what I flavor I'm in the mood for up from time to time by changing meat ingredient and spices, but still use the same method as this recipe. People that have them a lot almost always say they like them better the next day when the juice has thickened. I always tell them how I watched my grandmother make them when I was a child and how she made fresh beans taste like 2nd day beans. She used an old fashion potato masher when the beans had become tender. A few smashes releases the starch in the beans and you can't tell they have been mashed at all, just a thicker juice. I have also used the back of a large spoon with the same results. Thanks for posting this classic standard!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      You know, I was born and raised up in Mobile, AL. and definitely ham and beans and cornbread was one of our staples. I always thought that my Mom made the best beans going but they don;t hold a candle to this, Sorry, Mom!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      I changed up this recipe so much and it was still delicious. And it's probably even better as written. I eliminated the ham (vegetarian) and added a bit of olive oil. I used veggie broth instead of chicken. I used 2 cans of pinto beans instead of dried ones. I left out the garlic, as DH hates it. And with all those changes, it was still wonderful. We dipped corn bread in it (Real Southern Cornbread) and served it with greens and soy sausage. What a tasty, warm, satisfying meal. A dash of tabasco spices it up..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

    • on June 04, 2010

      First off I have to say that I came into this recipe blindly. I love soup beans and cornbread. I'm from KY so it is a traditional thing in my family. But I did not have all the ingredients. This is where it get a little funny. I only had 2 chicken bouillon cubes. So frantically searching the kitchen for some sort of a substitute I found....two chicken ramen noodle packets. LOL I KNOW, I KNOW! So I used the chicken seasoning in those and then realized that only brought me up to about 4 cups of broth! What to do, what to do? Ah! I used 4 beef bouillon cubes. Other than that I used everything as instructed. Sounds a little strange but I really like the was mine turned out. Just that it was a wee bit salty. I think the ramen seasoning is to blame for that. This was delicious. Maybe next time I will do it your way! LOL Or maybe not...Chicken, beef, and pork all flowing together..Never thought it would taste sooo goood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I made this for a halloween party last night, and what a hit! I didn't have bell pepper or tomato sauce, so I put in about 2 tablespoons of hot sauce. I also used half chicken broth and half ham broth because I didn't have enough chicken broth. I think the chicken broth alone would have been better, but that was my fault and it was still very delicious! Thanks for posting so many details and helpful hints, it really made a difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Absolutely delish. I can't stop tasting the yummy broth! I am making it now.... I added a bit more cayenne pepper and it is just the right amount of kick ... this recipe is wonderful and I am so happy with my first pot of beans. I am making some greens now from another recipe and will put the corn bread in soon.. YUM, THANKS so much for the guidance Chipfo!!!!!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      My husband is from the south so he loves beans and cornbread. I am from north I had never made them. I found this recipe and decided to surprise my husband. OMG! He loved them and he said they were better then his moms!!! Thank you so much for posting this was well written and easy to follow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      The best bean recipe ever. Any true Southerner knows a good pot of beans when he/she sees (or tastes!) one. Thanks for sharing this perfected recipe for the rest of us to enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Well Chip - never let it be said you can't teach an old cook new tricks! These beans are awesome! I did a little of your Dad's method and a little of yours. I only used 2 cups chicken broth, mostly water and the leftover ham bone from our Christmas dinner. Threw in a smoked ham hock for extra flavor and these beans ROCK!! Made with Cornbread and it was an awesome pairing. I wish now I would have made this for Daddy before he died; this was his favorite meal of all time. Thanks Chip, job well done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      excellent recipe! i also like this served with a little relish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      Very Good!!!!! Thanks so much!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      These were delicious. Went perfect with the cornbread and it makes a lot so I'll have a hot meal for lunch this whole week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Thank you so much for the recipe/instructions. I've never had my beans come out as good as Mom's. Well, DH said these were the best I'd ever made...and he was RIGHT! DS even had 2 helpings. The only changes I made: I deleted the tomato sauce (heard beans won't get tender in an acidic berw) and I lowered the chicken broth to 6 cups and used the crockpot. DH was grousing since I didn't double the recipe....well, I will next week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beans 101 - Beans and Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (531 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.0
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    12%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 298.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 14.2 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes