Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bean Burrito Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bean Burrito Casserole

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2002

      Well, I made this 2 ways because the ingredient list lists cheese and the instructions say to bake until cheese is melted... but don't say where to put the cheese. So, I made this one time with the cheese in the burrito and one time with the cheese sprinkled on top. Both ways were great, though we were partial to the cheese being baked on top. The sauce is spicy, but not too hot... and tempers the creamy black beans. Served this with guacamole and diced tomato. Requires a fork to eat gracefully.... it's a rich, saucy, cheesy, yummy mess that makes you want to lick your plate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      I made this recipe with the cheese on top...and it still came out great...next time please specify in the instructions where to insert the cheese it may seem minimal, but to a novice cook direction is everything..but all in all a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      I made this for dinner tonight using 2 jalapenos and 2 sweeter peppers. I also used low fat cheese and low carb tortillas. I didn't mash the beans very much because I don't care for the texture of them. We assembled the burritos and topped them with the cheese before putting them in the oven. Served them with homemade salsa and low fat sour cream. It was a terrific meal that the whole family enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      I skipped the jalapenos and did some without cheese to be vegan. Even without cheese they were very yummy although I hope to try it with soy cheese next time. Will definitely make this recipe a part of the dinner rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Pretty good. Served with salsa, guac, and sour cream. Used WW tortillas and cut down to two jalapenos, since four seemed like a lot to me. I don't know if my peppers were extra hot, but I think even two were too much for us. I think I'll make it with one next time, and maybe add more cheese. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      Very easy and tasted great:D To fit the leftover ingredients I was trying to use up, I substituted refried beans for the black beans, used whole-wheat tortillas and omitted the cilantro and guacamole because BF doesn't like them. I lowered the amount of oil and used a low-fat cheddar cheese. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Delicious! We didn't miss meat in these at all. I used sun-dried tomato tortillas, only 2 jalapenos, 2 teaspoons cumin and had no fresh coriander. I only had 26oz. of black beans so I added some canned diced tomatoes. As you can see, this recipe is very forgiving. It is sure to be served often in our house. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Amazingly easy and quick to put together. We had a great meal in no time, and everything was in my pantry! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      This was a huge hit at a dinner party I had. I never thought black beans could be this good! I made it once using a can of diced mild green chiles and once using a can of chopped hot jalapenos. Both were wonderful, and it's such an easy recipe. I would recommend mashing more than just half of the beans, because I had some fall out of the burritos when serving. This will be made many times in our house. Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      I had never made bean burritos before. Beef, chicken, cheese, but not bean. These were yummy! I thought I had tomato sauce, but didn't, so I substituted a loosley drained can of rotel tomatoes and omitted the jalepeno peppers, as the tomatoes had green chilis in them. I saved the tomato juices, and added just a bit when I felt the bean mixture was too thick. My hubby loved them. Thanks for a GREAT recipe NurseDi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      this is a great recipe! my very fussy teen son loved it, and that is saying a lot! the flavor is wonderful. thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      this was stunning, I had purchased exotic bean mix and used this to make my burritos. I served it with sour cream and guacamole on top which just added to the perfection. I did use reduced fat cheese, sour cream and guacamole and it did not affect the taste whatsoever. thank you for enabling me to think i can cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      We really enjoyed this. Didn't have black beans so I used one can refried beans and one can red beans. Added extra spices to the mix as well (goya sazon seasoning) b/c I thought it might be a bit on the 'bland' side for us. Simple and enjoyable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      Well, we're in a pinch for money right now and found this under inexpensive and it was VERY good. Kerrie loved it. More like an enchilada than a burrito. I baked it with the salsa spread on top first which made the tortillas very soft and gooey. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bean Burrito Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 520.6
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    35%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 25.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 750.4 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.2 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 12.6 g
    50%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites