14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for my dear, dumb, very Neanderthal Bf Dugan's monthly poker party. I almost hoped it wouldn't go over well so I would have something to eat myself. I LOVE bacon and blue cheese, combined. I was disappointed, I am afraid. I got only a few crackers with this dip before serving. It was hurredly scarfed by the whole lot of Dugan's grease monkey mechanics who demanded more. I make a different dip every month and they look forward to it. This is the first time in three years they have said. "We don't want something different next month. We want this." Then they grunted something I didn't understand and laughed amongst themselves and picked up their beer bottles and drank and started scratching themselves in places that I thought were very inappropiate. I don't know- I guess it is a guy thing. But they seemed to enjoy it. (I mean they seemed to have enjoy the dip- although, I think they may have enjoyed scratching themselves, too) I dunno. So... five stars. Thanks, dear. Pottsie PS. I tripled the bacon... they are carnivours. (Me too!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber January 02, 2006

I was really excited to try this dip today, however my excitement was short lived. The dip was just ok, I attempted to snaz it up by adding a little sourcream add Tabasco sauce. Thank you for sharing, but I don't think I will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigfishks January 17, 2010

I added a dash of worcestershire sauce,and tobasco. I also lightly sauteed the onion and garlic. I stirred about 1 Tbsp of EVOO in at the end. Absolutely delicious. Thank you for a delicious, and healthy appy. The second time I made it I added truffle oil, to die for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
conniecooks December 10, 2009

A wonderful,tasty easy to make dip. Loved it !!!! Thanks for such a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beansy December 26, 2008

Delicious! I had to make some substitutions, but it turned out great! I used Great Northern beans instead of the navy beans and 1/2 tsp of dried parsley instead of fresh. It's terrific! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyd November 05, 2008

Loved the combination of blue cheese & bacon. Very quick to prepare, and everyone who loves blue cheese really enjoyed it. Our texture was more of a thick spread as we drained & rinsed our beans. We served it with Carr's table water crackers, but next time I would definitely try a sliced baguette & maybe some acidity to thin the texture. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sous Chef Bentley May 19, 2008

Really good - I would make this again; I might try adding a tablespoon of an acid, like red wine vinegar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
likestocooklovestoeat February 03, 2008

I found it searching for lowfat dip recipes. NO WAY does this taste lowfat! Creamy, flavorful and all-around great. I used a reduced fat blue cheese, a touch more garlic and skipped the parsley 'cause I was out. Otherwise made as written. After the first bite, DH and I started trying it with a variety of chips and crackers. My personal favorite was cracked black pepper triscuits. Yum! This one is staying on the top of my Fall Snack rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field October 09, 2007

Lovely recipe and as another reviewer said it seems a lot healthier than those smothered in mayo or sour cream, I think the mushed up beans give a creamy enough texture anyway!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
English_Rose September 14, 2007
Bean, Bacon, and Blue Cheese Dip