20 Reviews

OH YES! OH YES! OH YES! THIS IS A KEEPER. I WANNA TELL YA', YOUR FAMILY IS RIGHT...MAKE THIS ONE YOUR BBQ SAUCE/MARINADE OF CHOICE. I have added this one to my faves, and filed it under "My Faves" (what else?) Two, 28 oz cans of GROUND PLUM TOMATOES measures 6 cups in volume. So I used two full tins of ground plum tomatoes, your seasonings, increased the ingredient quantities and onion by one-half because of the addition of two cups' tomato. (In this case, more is better - YUM). At the end of July, I am hosting an "in-law" Bar-B-Que and your recipe will be the BBQ Sauce/Marinade of choice for the 15 lb. beef tenderloin. At the end of August my niece is being married and I have been asked to cook the wedding BBQ. Your recipe will once again be the BBQ Sauce/Marinade of choice for the hip of beef. On September 20, there will be a birthday BBQ for 50 people at a friend's home; I have been asked to cook, and yes, your BBQ Sauce/Marinade will flavour 25 lbs chicken wings. On the Minus Side: It got used up too quickly. On the Plus Side: Seasonings are so easily adjusted to taste, and quantity. The melding of flavours is perfect. It is a recipe of simple preparation, and freezing for future use is exactly what I require. You get ten out of ten for sharing your talent, and happily 5-stars for the review.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TOOLBELT DIVA June 27, 2003

Absolutely delicious. Easy to make with readily available ingredients. Well worth planning to marinate overnight. My personal number one choice for the contest!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan July 21, 2003

This was great! The keeping qualities appealed to me too. Excellent instructions.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nelly July 19, 2003

Sauce had a good consistency; however, the cayenne overpowered the other spices. This recipe would not be for the timid at heart, as it really has a kick (but perhaps my cayenne powder was hotter than most). Good but not exceptional blend of flavors. Perhaps more brown sugar would help the balance?

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl July 15, 2003

Excellent - for more and more!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maws Joubert July 26, 2003

I agree with your family, this was excellent!! I did use more cayenne and curry powder. I will try this on pork as well, I am almost sure it will be great!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us July 10, 2003

Good spicy barbecue sauce that was great on the boneless ribs. I think this sauce would also work well on pork chops.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ June 28, 2003

The marinade for these ribs is easy to make and smells nice while it's cooking. I marinaded for about 5 hours before we grilled them. Tasty ribs with a bit of bite.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* June 24, 2003

Great recipe - I made the whole sauce recipe and then separated it into 4 containers for future use. Yesterday I marinated chicken breasts in it for 5 hours then BBQ'd them - excellent flavor . To day I am putting pork in the crockpot with another portion of the sauce. I will freeze the other two - I think you should bottle this sauce and sell it It is not just good on Beef Ribs but I'll bet it would work on almost everything - It's a winner Cindy Lynn Thanks for being so creative.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy August 04, 2003

very good

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian14 July 26, 2003
BBQ'd Beef Ribs