47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i added 1/2 cup of honey to this recipe and baked them at 325 degrees for 1 1/2 hrs. they were the best ribs i have ever eaten. my 30 guests agreed.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andre August 24, 2001

I love this recipe, I tried it the other day. I agree with the first reviewer add honey its a lot better. A great base recipe though!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ben Ross December 10, 2001

This recipe was DELICIOUS and easy!!! Don't listen to chef dude!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikel31 June 14, 2002

It was easy to make, and it tasted wounderful. I have been looking for a good rib recipe for a long time, now my search is done. YUMMY!!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lori2 August 15, 2001

I just tried this recipe at our BBQ over the weekend and it was a big hit !!! Great recipe !!!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie Woodall March 24, 2001

"Ribs" be pork or beef need to be spiced or given a "dry rub" then slow cooked over an indirect heat ( water smoker or a gas / charcoal grill ) at 200- 220 degrees for at least 4-6 hours. Then add sauce or a glaze for the last 30 mins.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dude August 06, 2001

I also added ½ cup honey as the others suggested, and didn’t have white vinegar, so I used apple cider vinegar, which worked fine. When I added the sautéed garlic and onions to the catsup/barbecue mixture it was thinner than what we like (as nobody else mentioned this I think it must’ve been my error), so I omitted the blender step, and just cooked it until it was a little thicker. I marinated the ribs for 3 hours in the frig, and then grilled them. The end result was rich tomatoey, juicy tender ribs. DD said to tell the recipe author 10 stars, and I fully agree that it rates 5 stars. It is rather time-consuming to make, but well worth it!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M August 30, 2002

The best ribs we have ever had. I made them with the honey added and then grilled them. Tender and delicious.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth Norris March 17, 2002

Absolutely the most delicious ribs I've ever eaten!! Everyone raved about how good they were and wanted my recipe. Guess I'll have to share it with them!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve Brown July 02, 2001

Excellent!. I added the honey as others had suggested and marinated them for 24 hours. The aroma coming from the grill was great and even better eating.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Ontario August 14, 2002
BBQ Ribs