Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / BBQ Ranchero Chicken Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    BBQ Ranchero Chicken Salad

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2008

      I have made this salad for years! It is a family favorite. I make a few small (but worthwhile) changes, first, I sautee chicken breasts in a little oil and butter, then shred or cube the meat, add the BBQ sauce, and let it simmer to absorb the flavor. Then I use Green Giant Mexicorn (with red pepper) to save time. I do not put the cheese or lettuce in the black bean/onion/tomato mixture, it just gets soggy, for each salad, I put down a layer of lettuce, then the corn/bean relish, then chicken, then dressing, and top it off with the cheese and olives. Lastly, I ALWAYS serve it in a flour tortilla shell bowl! Just place a burrito sized flour tortilla in a metal (or other oven proof) bowl of appropriate size, (prick it a few times to prevent bubbles) Or use a tortilla shell bowl form which is what I have. And bake @ 350 until brown, and crisp. (about 12 min or so) The flavor of this salad is INCREDIBLE! I just love it! 04/29/08 Just a quick update: As I said, this recipe is one my family enjoys on a regular basis, It's so pretty when served, I decided to snap a quick pic, I was lucky to get these 2 before my 17 yo son snatched this one right off the table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      This was delicious. I took the advice of another reviewer and browned the chicken in a skillet with some butter, salt and pepper, also I used chicken thighs. Then shredded the chicken and sauteed it in the BBQ sauce. Also I added some avocado, it turned out tender and yummy!
      Thanks for posting, will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      Made this with all vegan subs (used morningstar "chicken strips", daiya pepperjack and a homemade ranch dressing from tofutti sour cream seasoning mix recipe) Really great salad! Used a brown sugar bbq sauce which was perfect! Only thing I wasn't crazy about was the chili powder/cumin added to the ranch. I thought it took away from the other flavors and was a little confusing. Just personal preference. When I made up a second salad for lunch I used plain ranch. Looks and tastes like something from a restaurant. Thanks for the recipe!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Excellent!
      Can't wait to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Really good, beautiful, and easy. Instead of canned, I threw a few handfuls of frozen corn in a skillet and pan-roasted it. Also used light ranch. Looking forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

    • on June 30, 2010

      This is so good, and perfect for a summer evening dinner. I poached chicken, shredded it, and then added BBQ sauce to warm through. Omitted olives due to taste preference, and used cheddar cheese as that was what was on hand. Also scaled recipe down for 4 servings. My husband loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I made this salad without the cumin, olives and chili powder. It was absolutely delicious. Thanks for the new weeknight dinner salad idea! I roasted frozen corn in place of the canned corn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      This was a Great salad! The dressing was perfect with the BBQ , we used the mexicorn and used a mexican blend cheese instead of the jalepeno pepper cheese b/c that's what we had. I can't wait to make this again, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      GREAT recipe! I didn't have any chili powder on hand, so I substituted with McCormick's taco seasoning-- tasted great! Adds a little spiciness to the salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Oh, this is so good! The only thing I changed was the pepper to a green one, since I didn't have a red and also omitted the jalapeno. It made a beautiful main dish salad and one I will serve often! Very filling and healthy! Thanks Dancer^!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

    • on May 17, 2007

      I made this last night it was so good. I used chicken breast tenders and I used colby-jack cheese I have little ones and they can't handle that cheese. I did take another reviewers advise and used a can of mexicorn and omitted the red pepper. This was so easy and so good. I loved the dressing. Thanks for a real winner Dancer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for BBQ Ranchero Chicken Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 301.6
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    17%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 78.1 mg
    26%
    Sodium 1002.9 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 28.5 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed salad greens

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites