13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this salad for years! It is a family favorite. I make a few small (but worthwhile) changes, first, I sautee chicken breasts in a little oil and butter, then shred or cube the meat, add the BBQ sauce, and let it simmer to absorb the flavor. Then I use Green Giant Mexicorn (with red pepper) to save time. I do not put the cheese or lettuce in the black bean/onion/tomato mixture, it just gets soggy, for each salad, I put down a layer of lettuce, then the corn/bean relish, then chicken, then dressing, and top it off with the cheese and olives. Lastly, I ALWAYS serve it in a flour tortilla shell bowl! Just place a burrito sized flour tortilla in a metal (or other oven proof) bowl of appropriate size, (prick it a few times to prevent bubbles) Or use a tortilla shell bowl form which is what I have. And bake @ 350 until brown, and crisp. (about 12 min or so) The flavor of this salad is INCREDIBLE! I just love it! 04/29/08 Just a quick update: As I said, this recipe is one my family enjoys on a regular basis, It's so pretty when served, I decided to snap a quick pic, I was lucky to get these 2 before my 17 yo son snatched this one right off the table!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueguitargirl1985 April 29, 2008

This was delicious. I took the advice of another reviewer and browned the chicken in a skillet with some butter, salt and pepper, also I used chicken thighs. Then shredded the chicken and sauteed it in the BBQ sauce. Also I added some avocado, it turned out tender and yummy!
Thanks for posting, will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liljenn May 24, 2012

Made this with all vegan subs (used morningstar "chicken strips", daiya pepperjack and a homemade ranch dressing from tofutti sour cream seasoning mix recipe) Really great salad! Used a brown sugar bbq sauce which was perfect! Only thing I wasn't crazy about was the chili powder/cumin added to the ranch. I thought it took away from the other flavors and was a little confusing. Just personal preference. When I made up a second salad for lunch I used plain ranch. Looks and tastes like something from a restaurant. Thanks for the recipe!.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma July 27, 2011

Excellent!
Can't wait to make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonya #3 May 29, 2011

Really good, beautiful, and easy. Instead of canned, I threw a few handfuls of frozen corn in a skillet and pan-roasted it. Also used light ranch. Looking forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama May 08, 2011

This is so good, and perfect for a summer evening dinner. I poached chicken, shredded it, and then added BBQ sauce to warm through. Omitted olives due to taste preference, and used cheddar cheese as that was what was on hand. Also scaled recipe down for 4 servings. My husband loved it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrapbook Lori June 30, 2010

I made this salad without the cumin, olives and chili powder. It was absolutely delicious. Thanks for the new weeknight dinner salad idea! I roasted frozen corn in place of the canned corn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenkungfu March 08, 2010

This was a Great salad! The dressing was perfect with the BBQ , we used the mexicorn and used a mexican blend cheese instead of the jalepeno pepper cheese b/c that's what we had. I can't wait to make this again, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristiina June 16, 2009

GREAT recipe! I didn't have any chili powder on hand, so I substituted with McCormick's taco seasoning-- tasted great! Adds a little spiciness to the salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea85 March 02, 2009
BBQ Ranchero Chicken Salad