56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum. I found this recipe because my husband bought pork shoulder, which I'd never had before. This was delicious, but I was feeling pretty guilty about all the white fat that seemed to disappear, and rinsing it didn't make me feel better. Next time, I'll make it with the pork tenderloin, as Goochie137 said was used. (Feb '06)<br/><br/>I must update my review (which already was a 5star review) and say this is the bomb. I've made it now twice for my daughter's band (200+ ravenous kids and a few adult cheperones) and I get rave reviews. Kids I don't know hug me and tell me it's the best pulled pork they've ever had! I do have to roast it in the oven (350 @ 25 min/#/hunk, or until internal temp is 165) and it takes forever (esp to make 100 #!) but it is SO worth it. Fat and all. (Sep 2013)<br/><br/>Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AprilAllYear September 12, 2013

Very simple recipe that produces great results. I left this on low over night, and then added an onion, a red and yellow pepper and some mushrooms for the final 4 hours before serving. Turned out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbroh March 07, 2011

I made this today for dinner and it was an absolute hit with the whole family. I don't like northern (sweet) style BBQ sauce, so I used Stubbs, which is more Carolina style. I also added a little dry sherry to the water at the beginning. I will use this recipe over and over!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilusmc January 31, 2009

I can't believe I have never reviewed this recipe, as we have been using it for at least two years. I love the simplicity of this recipe. The one change that I have made to it was to add just a bit of liquid smoke, that is just an issue of personal preference, the flavor of the pork when making the recipe is delicious. Thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit_Kat August 05, 2011

Excellent pulled pork! I used a larger piece of pork (we wanted the leftovers for the freezer) so I put my slow cooker on HIGH all day otherwise I made as posted. When I took it out to shred, I poured out all the liquid and just put the post and 1 1/2 bottles of sauce back in the slow cooker. Very simple ~ I love the flavor of the basil and rosemary in the sandwiches. Thanks for posting a keeper!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook May 02, 2010

I hate to be one of those people to review a recipe when I've made some changes but I didn't have Sweet Baby Ray's so I used Kraft Original BBQ sauce and to sweeten it a bit I added 1/4 cup of marmalade and that gave it a really nice flavor..It was a big hit.I did find it to be too watery once I added the bbq sauce, it didn't thicken up like I thought so next time I might take a bit of the liquid out...the meat came out so nice and tender. Thank u for showing me how to make pulled pork! I'll be making this often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zaprudrr June 23, 2009

This is a comment about the bbq sauce rather than the recipe: Unless you like your pulled pork really, really sweet, I suggest using a sauce other than Sweet Baby Ray's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra August 07, 2008

fantastic! I would have been happy with the meat before adding sauce it was awesome but after cooking in the bbq sauce it leaped into amazing. I served it on toasted buns with provolone and hand cut fries. thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brydell July 11, 2008

Love this recipe!! I have made this several times and it is sooo good! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl's Home Cookin' February 04, 2014

Made this for dinner the other night, and it was gone in record time! We're trying to cut down on sugars, so I made Low Carb Chipotle Barbecue Sauce as the BBQ sauce for the recipe. The taste of the whole dish was superb, but for some reason it came out a little too liquidy for our liking, and that was without adding in the extra 1/4 cup of water in Step 4. Next time I'll just decrease the water. Otherwise, it was perfect pulled pork!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dripdripsplat March 26, 2012
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches