143 Reviews

We really liked the sweetness of these as I too cut back on the chili powder. I used new red potatoes in chunks. My only problem was the recipe doesnt say what to do with the butter. I just mixed it in with the spices and baked. Next time I think I will cover in foil as they will steam the potatoes better, but otherwise these were different and enjoyable!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE September 09, 2002

Quick, easy and delicious. I am always up for new ways to cook potatoes. This is a keeper - all ingredients are always on hand which is a big plus.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie September 23, 2002

Loved these... used 1/2 tbl of ancho chile powder and 1/2 tbl paprika, agave nectar for the honey and added a little seasoning salt. I baked them in my oven and they were delicious!! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue April 26, 2010

Wow! These should be called honey barbeque potatoes. They have enough sweet-spicyness to be served alone. I baked them until they would crumble under the touch of a fork (about 1 and 1/2 hours at 350)and enjoyed them plain. I used oil instead of butter solely for less sodium content. If you want more spicy add a little tabasco or cayenne. If you want to cut it a little I would serve it with a side of sour cream and chives. I loved them, and will make them again. This would be great even for a kicky oven french fry! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow July 20, 2003

I am a big potato fan and love trying different recipes. This was very good. I cooked in the oven and didn't change a thing. Next time I will probably add a tad more garlic. Thanks Poker !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Ontario October 22, 2002

Yowser!! We loved these potatoes. The only change I made was to double the garlic powder and pepper. Nice and spicy. Went well with the rest of our BBQ menu. Thanks Poker.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bella214 October 18, 2002

Yummy.....made them on the grill! I'm going to try them in the oven too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelli September 17, 2002

Awesome potatoes. I'm a ranch dressing nut, so I dunked mine and the taste combo was incredible. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom September 09, 2002

These were OK. I chopped the potatoes and mixed everything into a ziplock and put in the fridge for a couple of hours -- thought maybe marinating them would help based on some of the other reviews. (also added about 1/2 tsp salt) We put them on the grill and the method of cooking was nice but the flavors didn't permeate the potatoes and it seemed like the flavors slid off b/c of the butter or the honey or ????? They looked pretty but didn't have the strong flavor I was expecting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 June 12, 2010

We thought these were too bland. You wouldn't think so with 1 Tbsp chili powder, but we thought so. I should have added salt like other reviewers did. Everyone needed to add a dipping sauce for these in order to get more flavor. I cut them smaller (into 1/8) and I cooked them at 350 for 50 minutes with the main dish. They were perfectly done, just too bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids May 07, 2010
BBQ Potatoes