143 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I couldn't stop eating these potatoes - didn't care if I had anything else! I had to use regular baking potatoes and guess at the amount. I also substituted 1 tsp of a combination garlic, parsley and salt combination for the garlic powder. I wrapped it in double foil and DH cooked it on a covered BBQ grill. The chili - honey -garlic flavor with a bit of blacking from the butter is totally addicting!

52 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac July 05, 2002

I mixed everything, cut the 'taters and tossed in a big bowl. I then covered it and put it in the frige for a few hours while I got everything else for our BBQ ready. I cooked them in the oven and they came out really good. My BF said they sort of tasted like sweet potatoes. I think this sauce would be good on chicken or pork too. Thanks!

42 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah July 05, 2002

AT my house, we really love our taters. These are so addictive. I followed the recipe exactly. Wrapped them in heavy-duty foil and cooked on the grill. OMG!! These were so great. The spice blend was the best. I should have doubled the recipe because we could not stop eating them. Thanks Poker :-)

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' August 12, 2002

Absolutely wonderful! As in another review, I cut up the potatoes, tossed them to coat and put in refrigerator for a few hours, then baked them in the oven. They came out so nicely browned and flavorful. Just for my own families taste I am going to cut back a little on the chili powder the next time. I served them with the Meat Loaf Barbecue Style #17394, a small salad and a vegtable. What a wonderful dinner. Thanks for posting this great potato recipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrilynn August 30, 2002

I am not a big fan of potatoes but these were definetely the best I have ever had. There was such a wonderful tast to them. Everyone had their fingers in them. Have had them several times since I first tried them. So sorry to post this comment so late.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole Whitmore September 03, 2002

Poker, this is outstanding. My family and I loved the chili powder-honey flavor. Gave these a wonderful spicy-sweet flavor. I doubled the recipe and am so glad. Definitely our latest food craze. Easy and delicious--Thanks :)

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes August 19, 2002

I made this at my BBQ and everyone loved it. I made the recipe as written but slised the potatoes thin then made 20 small foil packets and put them on the grill for 10 min. WAY TO GO!!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulcm August 26, 2002

Delicious! The honey definitley gives this a special flavor. It makes a good contrast with the chili powder.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi September 04, 2002

these were soooooo good and easy. clean up was a snap! my husband want sure about them- but ended up eating half of them! thanks for posting!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach September 02, 2002

Friday night my neighbor was over looking for things to fix for our BBQ Sunday and asked if she could fix these. I just said "Whatever you want". I sure am glad she found them. These were great!!That honey and chili powder did the trick for us. Delicious. I can only give one 5* here, but this got four 5*'s at the my picnic table. Thank for the recipe.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck in Killbuck September 20, 2002
BBQ Potatoes