Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / BBQ Pork Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    BBQ Pork Ribs

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2002

      Another first-class recipe from this chef. I am unable to buy New Mexico chili powder in this area and so, after a helpful discussion on the bulletin boards, I used Ancho chili powder at the author’s suggestion. The only other substitution that I made (forced by medical necessity) was to use celery seeds instead of celery salt. Prior to rubbing the ribs, I took the advice of a friend (who is a chef at a local pit beef restaurant) and removed the thin white membrane from the back of the ribs in order to allow the flavours of the spice mix to permeate the meat more thoroughly. At 3½ hours, the ribs were done to perfection – beautifully tender with a pleasant slightly crispy exterior. I ate mine just as they were, and another diner requested that hers be grilled with a very thin baste of sweet barbecue sauce to temper the spice slightly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      Ribs have always been a challenge for me. I was never able to make them as tender and tasty as those in the restaurant. Well, that has changed with this recipe. We loved the spicy rub, and they were fall off the bone tender. I did brush a small amount of BBQ sauce on the meaty side during the second half of the grill time. Absolutely delicious. Will make these again! Thanks, Mean Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      pretty dang good!! threw in our convection smoker for a few hours. also didnt have new mexico chile pwdr available and no time to dehydrate peppers, so i used chili powder. a little strong, but wonderful and cannot wait to use other types of powdered peppers!! cut up what few leftovers there were and made some wonderful quesadillas!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      This recipe is a big hit. There is no need to go out for ribs if there is time to prepare this one. I have made 3 times, each successful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Made this per the recipe w/ancho chili pwdr. I enjoyed it greatly but Mama thought it was a little "warm" for her. Baked for 4 hrs but next time will bake them longer and served w/ BBQ sauce on the side.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      We baked our spareribs 4 hours and grilled them 10 minutes on a side and they were still not cooked all the way through. We ended up putting them back in at 300 for another half hour. Very tender, though, which is rare for ribs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I used my own marinade (wicker's recipe here on this site), but cooked them as recommended. All the fat cooked out of them, and they were tender, moist, and delicious. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      I have my own Smoked chili rub spice blend I use... I have made these ribs about 4 times now and everyone asks me for the recipe. I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      I used my own rub and bbq sauce, but cooked it as directed by this recipe, and OH WOW! Amazing :). I chose this recipe because of the reviews, and they were all right! The ribs were moist, tender and the meat fell off the bones. I made them for guests and they were very impressed that such tender ribs could have a wondeful grilled taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      I've been cooking ribs a long long time but thought I would try this process. I used my own spices and rubs but followed the cooking instructions precisely. MAN OH MAN these are really great, the meat is so soft and tender, but the last few minutes of grilling get just enough crunchiness. Thanks much, this one is a keeper for me, that's for certain.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      These were a huge hit. I started with really good ribs from a local butcher then when they were done roasting I covered half in a hickory bar-b-que sauce and half in the raspberry chipotle sauce that was recomended by another reviewer. Both went over well. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      These ribs were so easy to make and so, so good. I had a party of 30+ people last night and everyone enjoyed it. I love it because it can be prepared the day before and then just throw it on the grill for a few minutes! Thanks for another great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      Extremely tender and flavorful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      I tried these last night and even my 6 and 7 year old liked them. They were tender and had lots of flavor and I will make them again but next time I think I'll let them stay in the oven even longer because they weren't quite ready to fall off of the bone yet when the cooking time was up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      The long search for the ultimate rib recipe is over. Terrific!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2003

      The ribs came out great! I used your other recipe for KC rub and used your cooking directions on this recipe, and everyone raved. Will make again & again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      WOO HOO. THESE ARE SOME KICKAZ RIBS. followed recipe exactly as written using ancho chili powder. Took the ribs to a friend's house cause our grill went to that great junk yard in the sky and they have a "cadillac" grill. We added a bit of bbq sauce during the last minutes of cooking. Better than any rib restaurant ever. Way to go Mean Chef. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2003

      With all the internet recipes available to try, I rarely make a recipe twice...but my mother and husband insisted we do this one again! Made it as specified...great! Bought ribs today so we can make it again! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      I didn't want to get hurt so I thought I'd better cook these ribs (because I usually boil mine). They were great! They basked in the rub for about 7 hours, then, one hour into the bake time, we lost power due to an ice storm and I have an electric oven! Waited and waited, no power...then put the ribs outside, where it was cold enough to keep them ok, and we headed to the casino for dinner buffet, the only place with power. Continued the recipe on Easter and they were fine, in fact the 7 hour marinade in the rub, one hour bake, then 2 days in the coldest part of the fridge might have intensified the flavor. I will be cooking ribs like this from now on, and not just because I'm afraid of getting hurt if I boil them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      haven't tried it yet, but I'm going 2 today, just because I liked your comment.("Don't cook in liquid...)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for BBQ Pork Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1341.7
     
    Calories from Fat 989
    73%
    Total Fat 109.9 g
    169%
    Saturated Fat 40.1 g
    200%
    Cholesterol 367.4 mg
    122%
    Sodium 496.3 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    25%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 75.6 g
    151%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes