8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Added comments: I made this marinade again and I used Mirabelle Plum Jam it was wonderful! Chops turned out perfect, wonderful flavor but I used shoulder chops (I know better) there is a lot of chew around with them. They were on for such a great price but in the long run not worth it - Jan this is a winner of a marinade. Oringinal review: SOoo Ms guru of the lambchop (or so I see you have been dubbed), well deserved. This is such an easy recipe and gives great flavor to the lamb. You have to watch that they don't burn because of the sugar content in the marinade. I did not add the sugar just the jam and it was just right. Next time I will try red currrent jam Thanks Jan

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 27, 2005

So easy and simple to do.
I used home made plum jam and did cut down on the sugar and this proved to be, one superb marinade!
DH & DS really enjoyed the added flavour that this marinade gave to their lamb forquarter chops. .
With 3/4 of a jar of plum jam left Jan, I am sure I will be using this again very soon.
Thanks Jan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme February 09, 2012

I'ts sooooooo delicious! I've tasted a lot of lamb chops all over kuwait but this is the best! i just cut down the sugar to 1/4 cup and use apple cider vinegar.my wife don't eat lamb but when she taste it......MABUHAY!Jan...........you're the reason why i want to buy grill co'z i will make this on my son's baptismal.LONG LIVE THE QUEEN! ! ! thank's jan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joron June 13, 2011

Wonderfully simple, and extremely tasty...these little chaps cooked up beautifully on the barbecue.
I would cut down on the sugar content next time ( that's a personal preference-not a recipe flaw).
A keeper for sure..cheers JJS.
Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #49.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo February 19, 2011

This was an exceptionally good marinade. It was really quick and easy to make and the end result was outstanding. We all kept raving about how good the chops turned out and the wonderful flavour. I served mine over parsnip, carrot and zucchini slices which were perfect. This will definitely become a favourite. Thanks Jan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef October 04, 2008

This was a wonderful marinade and the sugar content gave it a great caramelised flavour. I assumed the sauce would be Australian tomato sauce otherwise known as ketchup rather than the pasta sauce variety. ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J September 07, 2008

With a recommendation from Kittencal and Bergy, how could I go wrong with this recipe from the Queen of Lamb. My DH pronounced it to be "outstanding!". Not having any plum jam, I grabbed my blueberry preserves and hoped that they would work, also substituting apple cider vinegar for the malt vinegar. No worries, the marinade was thick, sweet and tangy....just perfect with my lamb chops, and also delicious brushed on baby zucchini. Thanks for the wonderful meal and a recipe to use again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema April 18, 2007

OMG, this was so good, made as directed, only I added 1 Tbsp fresh chopped garlic (gota have the garlic!), I did cut down on the sugar to 1/4 cup....marinated my lamb chops for 24 hours, then made them on the BBQ, they tasted so good, and they were so tender. Thanks Jan for a wonderful Lamb marinade recipe, I will use this again....KC :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz May 19, 2004
BBQ Marinade for Lamb Chops