7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love the ease and simplicity! I had some quark on hand (European cottage cheese to use up) and this was perfect! Next time I can see myself adding roasted red capsicum or speck! Thanks Peter J! Made as part of the AUS/NZ May Recipe Swap!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder May 06, 2014

I make these all the time - they are so tasty the only difference is that I sprinkle on some hot chili flakes and usually do them in the toaster oven - heat set at 375, uncovered for apprx 20 minutes or until the cottage cheese is all bubbly and starting to brown- Thanks for reminding me to make these again Thanks for posting PeterJ 24 May 09 Made these again I had forgotten how good they are Mmmm 5 April 2010 Yep made them again - this time I had some left over chopped Jalapenos so I mixed them into the Cottage cheese Mmmmmmm- Lovely - I used very large brown mushrooms. And yet again 23 May 10 This time I chopped a roasted garlic clove in each mushroom cap and sprinkled Adobo spice on top Love these cottage cheese stuffed muchroom

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 23, 2010

Very easy, and very tasty!! Will make again.Really enjoyed these! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beansy May 05, 2010

Wasn't sure what to expect, but wanted to try because they sounded healthy. My only complaint is that I didn't make enough! Couldn't wait, so I started sampling them while they were on the grill, and there weren't many left when they finally were done. Have more mushrooms in the fridge, so will be making again this week. Melt in your mouth fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jfreed July 06, 2009

Peter, these are excellent. I should have made more as Dave and I are fighting over the last one! Tonight I sprinkled my mushrooms with a bit of garlic salt, covered with cottage cheese and then sprinkled the top with cayenne pepper. It's still a bit cool to be cooking outside so I cooked in the oven. Will definitely be making these again very soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies August 02, 2007

These weren't anything special for me. I tried making them twice (since I love mushrooms and I love cottage cheese). The first time I used black pepper and the second time I used barbeque spice, but I couldn't get the spices to come through on flavor. I didn't dislike them, I just have other dishes I would prefer over them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasHurricane July 18, 2007

These just made a delightfully light delicious lunch for myself. I had 4 small/medium field mushrooms that took a 1 tablespoon of cottage cheese in each with the black pepper and a sprinkle of dried herbs and baked in the oven (180 degree C) for 15 minutes. I think it would also go well with some finely chopped chives. Thank you Peter for another mushroom recipe for my cookbook. Made for Recipe Swap #6 July 2007.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat July 02, 2007
BBQ Cottage Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms