14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really like the concept of this recipe--barbecue flavored rice. I used some leftover, cut up chicken, about 1 & 1/2 cups. I think turkey could also substitute for the chicken. And I also didn't have instant rice so i used regular rice. I used 2 cups of water to one cup of regular white rice and a little bit more barbeque sauce. I poured some of the water into the BBQ sauce bottle and shook it all around to get every last bit. The recipe turned out very good. I used a big iron skillet, with some oil, to lightly fry my leftover chicken. Then I poured in my liquid and added my rice. I allowed the rice to simmer on low heat until it was done. Thanks for the great ideas.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sml212 September 26, 2002

I used this recipe as a side dish by not using the chicken. I also used regular rice and I added the sauce, "Diana's Original Bar-b-que sauce" as part of the liquid when cooking the rice. I did add finely chopped green pepper and carrot in the last 5 minutes of cooking too. It was a colorful, delicious, addition to our meal.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * March 12, 2003

The above recipe did not call for enough barbeque sauce for our tastes... we added lots more during and after cooking. Had to cook regular rice on the side and add in, but it still tasted great. We used minced garlic instead of garlic powder and that gave it a savory kick. Easy to prepare and overall it was a good combo to please my boyfriends need for barbeque and my need for rice in a meal. Thanks, Dale.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu March 09, 2003

My husband gave this the highest compliment..."You can make this again!!"...Believe me-thats BIG!! This was so easy and very tasty!! The only thing I changed is instead of garlic powder-I used minced garlic (and thats only because my garlic powder is MIA). Thank you for posting this recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MackinacBride December 31, 2002

This was delicious! My whole family rated this one 5 stars so that makes 25 stars for this one. I used Bulls-eye Smokey Barbecue Sauce gave it a little smokey flavor. Thanks so much for this recipe Dale ; )

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut September 24, 2002

Wonderful! We used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce and the chicken was a hit. Next time I will probably skip the corn and just make Mirjam's Creamed Corn Casserole (#16945) to go with it instead. Good flavor combination.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl September 20, 2002

This recipe was ok but I felt the chicken was a bit dry. I will make this again only next time I will add more barbeque sauce over top of the chicken. Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy May 23, 2003

I thought this turned out ok - the chicken was rather plain and didn't seem to fit the rest of the recipe. The rice mixture was tasty, and overall this was easy. I didn't see where to add the garlic powder, so I added it in step 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch September 18, 2007

This recipe was okay, most of my family liked it. It was definetly easy to make. Next time I think I will add some onions and green peppers, as I really liked the "crunch" texture the corn gave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianainMichigan October 19, 2006

This is very tasty! I omitted the garlic powder because I used Honey-Garlic barbecue sauce. We don't like a lot of garlic. I substituted 1 cup regular long grain rice for the Minute rice, and simmered for 25 minutes instead of 5 minutes. I also upped the water to 2 cups. I put the salt and pepper on the chicken when I sauteed it, instead of in the water mixture. Dh wants to try it next time with sweet and sour sauce in place of the barbecue sauce. I'll be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuisinebymae May 15, 2004
BBQ Chicken Rice