9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious basted on chicken breast fillets and cooked on the barbie. Served with a garden salad on the side for a great dinner

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** August 01, 2010

A really lovely great sauce! full of flavour - I used a teaspoon of freshly grated ginger. I brushed some of the sauce on the chicken a few hours before hand.
We barbecued it last night and it was served with potato salad and tossed salad. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyfulCook July 30, 2010

This was a delicious basting sauce. I basted a chicken breast over a hot barbecue (yes we are in the middle of winter and yes it was pouring rain) and it was yummy! The sauce was put together in a matter of seconds and the chicken was really tender. I served with with a bok choy and mushroom stir-fry and Beet Salad. Thanks so much for posting your recipe Gerry

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer June 09, 2010

Now that's what 'I'm talking about...a sauce that is quick and easy to throw together and you don't have to marinate the meat. I made the sauce exactly as written adding some freshly grated ginger and crushed red pepper flakes. I cooked chicken tenders on the grill, basting them until all the sauce was used up. I like to use chicken tenders because they cook faster and you don't have to worry about whether or not the middle of a chicken breast has cooked through. The flavors were sensational. The chicken tasted like it had been marinating all night. Thanks for sharing! Made for March, 2010 Aussie/NZ Swap.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 March 21, 2010

I really enjoyed the many flavours of this Oriental Ginger sauce. I used fresh ginger and added the crushed chilies and some garlic. I used the sauce to baste a chicken breast, bet it would be great on salmon steaks too!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly in Canada June 04, 2008

What a wonderful easy sauce! The flavor of the ginger really shined through! This was easy enough for my kids to make. Thanks! MADE FOR ZWT 4

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawna Landers May 31, 2008

A great simple sauce! I added a crushed chili and fresh ginger and it was super!! Thanks, Gerry.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate May 30, 2008

A nice simple sauce that goes together quickly. I found that even though I used 1/2 sesame oil and half olive oil the sesame oil still seemed to overpower the other ingredients. I bought a new brand of sesame oil however; and it could be that this brand is stronger in flavor then the one I used to buy. I will definitely use this again though when the weather warms and I can grill outdoors. For now I have to be content with my indoor electric grill. Made and reviewed for the Best of 2010 Recipe Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate March 01, 2011

I made this on 3/23/09 for the "Spring PAC 2009 " event.Since I don't have a grill, I doubled the recipe and used it as a marinade instead.And I have to tell you, it made a very good marinade. Step 2 reads to brush on pork or chicken, but it works really well on beef too.;) .This will be made again. Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � March 23, 2009
BBQ Basting Sauce - Oriental Ginger