Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bayrischer Kartoffelsalat (Barvarian Potato Salad) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bayrischer Kartoffelsalat (Barvarian Potato Salad)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2009

      This is NOT an authentic Bavarian recipe! For true Bavarian potato salad, potatoes are boiled whole (water is fine, broth is not necessary), and then peeled and sliced (not too thinly) while still hot. Just let them cool slightly until you can bear to handle them. The salad is then immediately dressed with several table spoons of boiling water, (olive) oil and vinegar (NOT lemon juice - BTW 2 TBS won't season much) and plenty of salt and pepper. NO sugar! The potatoes need to be hot to soak in all the flavor. The salad is usually decorated with hard boiled eggs cut into wedges. Onions and thinly sliced cucumbers are usually served on the side so people can mix them into the salad as they like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      I think this needed more salt or something. This seems pretty authentic but it wasn't the best potato salad I've ever had. We enjoyed it though with Nurenburger bratwurst. It was a good match!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Very easy to make, unfortunately my family wasn't so sure about it. It seemed like it needed something flavor-wise, definitely extra salt and maybe some basil and/or garlic? Probably better quality broth would have helped at any rate. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Liked this a lot, although my DH, friend and I all added salt. Used olive oil cause it's more diet-friendly! It is a lot like my Tante Frieda's Swabian potato salad (different region of Germany). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Incredible! I made this and another German-style potato salad a few weeks ago for our annual Oktoberfest celebration in our home. Those who have been to Germany loved this one best, including The Beau; those who have never been to Germany kept coming back for seconds and thirds of this one too. I won't wait until our next Oktoberfest to make again, wonderful flavour and a new favourite for me. I used Yukons based on another reviewer's recommendation and tripled the recipe because we were having so many people over. I didn't realize I was out of vegetable oill and just subbed grapeseed oil, turned out fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      My DS said this tasted just like a potato salad that he enjoyed during a recent visit to Berlin, Germany. He liked it so much that he now wants to learn how to make it on his own. I also made it again with a little onion powder for another DS who loathes raw onions; he raved about how good it was and asked for it again. This was very easy to make. We will use this recipe often. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      FANTASTIC! I have been missing my best friends potato salad (she is from the Stutgart area of Germany) and this recipe is the closest to hers I have found. First if all according to my friend in America the only potatoes that come close to the ones they use in Germany are Yukon Golds. I also used veggie broth in place of the chicken broth and kept about 1/4c. of it to mix in with the oil. Instead of vegetable oil I used Enova and it was perfect. Per Edith I subbed white vinegar for the lemon juice and used about 2 teaspoons more than 2 tablespoons. I added about half of a very thinly sliced peeled English cucumber and some fresh minced chives. We were in heaven. According to my friend this potato salad should NEVER be refrigerated and you must finish it by the following day or throw it out. To me this is the perfect way to make potato salad. Thank you SO much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      My brother and I planned a German themed dinner for my mom's birthday. My mom was absolutely thrilled with this potato salad and kept saying that it tasted just like her German grandma used to make. My brother, who lived in Germany for fifteen years said that it had an authentic German taste. My only suggestion is to double the recipe because it is so good you want everyone to be able to have a helping or two! It was a hit. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      With so few ingredients I was iffy about what this was going to taste like. But I was pleasantly surprised. I loved the lemon taste, and the salt and pepper, along with the sugar, gave it a nice texture, it was amazingly good, and it will definitely be made again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      this is definately not bavarian potatoe salad. we don't use lemon juice!! If you want authentic, you might want to try another recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bayrischer Kartoffelsalat (Barvarian Potato Salad)

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.5
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    49%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 673.6 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites