Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bayrischer Gulasch: German Goulash Stew - Crock Pot or Oven Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bayrischer Gulasch: German Goulash Stew - Crock Pot or Oven

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2010

      Tartie I LOVED your friends stew and thank you so much for sharing it with us! I did not peel the potatoes and used baby carrots that I rough chopped. Didnt think I had enough red wine so I added about 1/2 cup of beef broth. Ran out of caraway seed so I substituted celery seed but definitely use the caraway seed for that rich hearty flavor. Simmered this on the stove for 3 hours and the stew meat was so tender, potatoes and carrots had a great flavor, and the sauce was heaven. This is so much better then the stew I make! Made and reviewed for KC's Recipe Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      I made this in the crock pot & had leftover rutabagas to use up so I diced those & threw them in with everything else. I didn't have the full 1/2 bottle of wine, more like 1/3, so I made up for what I drank.. er, I mean, what was missing ;), with some beef broth. I still should have cut back on the liquid, but after mashing the potatoes & rutabagas in the bowl, the consistency was perfect. :) I also added a few shreds of Jarlsberg cheese that I have to use up. Great flavor, FT! Thanks for posting. Made & enjoyed for ZWT-6 Team Xtra Hot Dishes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      I really liked this; husband didn't. I used the crockpot method with round steak and the full amt of liquid. I just thickened it w/a little Wondra flour before serving. In retrospect, if I had peeled and diced the potatoes, I think they might have dissolved and thickened the liquid on their own. ZWT6

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Great!!! I used the crockpot method while we were at work, I switched it on just as I left and it was perfect after cooking for 9 hours and then being left on warm for a few. Made as directed, using 1/2 bottle of wine, per other reviewers comments, about 1/2 cup beef broth and 1 beef bullion cube in addition. I did stir some sour cream into the stew before serving. I was not sure to do that or put it on the side, but regardless it was great. I also used petite diced tomatoes to make it more appealing for DH who does not like large chunks of tomatoes! We served this with German Country Style Sourdough Rye Bread With Caraway Seeds for a lovely supper "A la Tart"! :) Thanks for posting! Made for The Queens of Quisine ZWT6!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Very, very good. When I went to the cupboard to get the paprika, I realized I was out of the authentic Hungarian paprika, so I had to use the everyday Spanish paprika. Because of that, I had to add a lot more herbs and salt/pepper. The Spanish just doesn't have the flavor of the Hungarian. I also added 1/2 tsp of cumin seeds in place of the caraway seeds. Other than that, I made as directed. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This is a very good recipe. After putting everything into my crockpot, it was filled almost to the brim. I used baby potatoes and had the veggies at the bottom and the meat on the top. Cooked on high for about 4 hours. No loss of liquid, in fact, it bubbled out. The wine smell and taste was overpowering (for me) on the first day but today is day three and it has toned down and tastes wonderful. Meat is tender. I might throw in a big red chilli pepper or two as I like some heat. I used half california red and Lambrusco.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      A great meal. I used the crock pot method and served with noodles & sour cream. It is richly flavoured and easy to prepare. I, however, wouldn't say that it was distinctly German in flavour. I will make it again but I will be increasing the caraway seeds (and bruising them) as I found the flavour of 1 teaspoon of these got totally lost in the dish. Made for Aussie Recipe Swap #19.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      ZWT6: Tartlet - OUTSTANDING!!!!!! Awesome, sophisicated home-cooked dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Made for a wonderful meal in early May when we found ourselves with some white stuff falling - perfect for a warm up on a cold chilly day. The aroma alone rates a five! Other then only having a cup of the red wine on hand, made as posted (used stock to make up the difference) Served with mini loaves of your Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread. This reheats beautifully - the second time around served with a freshly baked Feather Bread (Bread Maker - for Bread - Rolls - and Buns.). Another French Tart recipe to my Family Favourites file. Made for Auz/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      It was absolutely fantastic! I used some red potatoes, because they were all I had but this was absolutely delicious! I like some heat, so I added some chiracha sauce on top of the sour cream and it was soooooooooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This is a terrific recipe. I had never had goulash before but my husband grew up eating it. He loved this recipe as did I. I did use a very good merlot and added more wine than was called for...deeelish! I made extras and have frozen them for future meals. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Really good stew! I did this in the crock pot and used the low setting for 8-10 hours while we were at work. I used the listed amount of wine, but for future reference if its to cook this long I would add more liquid. It was almost all soaked up by the time DH got home from work. DH loved eating this over buttered toast. (Just read Dreamer's review, lol, I guess she did the same as me). Thanks French Tart!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      We loved this meal. I made it in the crock pot and cooked it on low for 10 hours since I was at work all day. I used more wine than suggested for the crock pot method and I'm glad I did. Probably because the new crock pots run on the hot side, I found that most of the liquid was gone when I got home. I'd like to try this using the stove top method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      What a keeper! It is just turning fall up here, and the nights get so cool...this is the perfect dinner! I loved the flavor and the simpleness (is that a word???..if not, it should be!). Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe! LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      This is such a wonderful recipe. Easy yet full of flavor. It's awesome and I made it exactly to the recipe! I needs nothing added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bayrischer Gulasch: German Goulash Stew - Crock Pot or Oven

    Serving Size: 1 (355 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 603.0
     
    Calories from Fat 307
    50%
    Total Fat 34.1 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 101.3 mg
    33%
    Sodium 117.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 32.2 g
    64%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried herbs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites