Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bayou Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bayou Brownies

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2003

      So different and SO GOOD!!! I made a batch of these this morning to take to my doctors office (butter them up a bit) and the bacth is now minus 3 :-) I will have to make these for DH this weekend, he lived in New Orleans. Thanks Riff, these are a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2003

      I made these last weekend for company and they are so good, I am making some more today. Not like your usual Brownie, but good non the less. Very easy to make, I noticed I had to cook it just a little longer than the recipe said to make sure cream cheese set.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2003

      these are very good and great tasting---very rich tasting! I had to bake a little longer!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2003

      These are absolutely wonderful! My husband ate one & raved about them. Something different and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      These were very good, but I found the topping to be a little too sweet, so next time I will cut back on the powdered sugar. After reading other reviews on how long they seemed to take to bake, I tried making them in a jelly roll pan. It worked great and I also was able to get a few more cuts out of the pan. The house I cook for is filled with chocolate fanatics, therefore I tried pressing some chocolate chips in part of the pan. I would do this again, the ladies loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      My wife made these-she said they are very easy to make so that's a plus. The best thing about them is the cream cheese/cake mix texture variation, which you don't normally get with the standard one-texture brownies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      These are incredible. I made them using a Lemon Supreme cake mix, because it's all I had. Oh my word. Delicious. Highly recommended.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      I made these tonight and they were so gooood !! I used banana cake mix, reduced the amount of powdered sugar and baked for an hour !! OMG so yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      These were very disappointing. I cut the sugar back to 2 cups like was suggested so I dont know if that affected the texture or what..but the top was way too sticky and pasty, glue-like. And the bottom crust was dry and crumbling apart, they were a disaster to cut and eat. My 12 yr old who loves ALL sweets didnt even like them :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

    • on July 28, 2011

      Boy oh boy are these ever good! The bottom layer is almost blondie-like in its chewiness and the nuts are a wonderful crunchy surprise. The top layer is creamy, verging on cheesecake. Yum. I could also see adding fruit, zest, or spices to either layer, but they are wonderful as is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I found these bars,very tasty.I did cut powder sugar by 3/4 cup. Was sweet enough for my family. A great potluck item..Thank U..UPDATE: I make these brownies now using a pecan cake mix and add 1 extra egg to the cream cheese topping. Also use only 2 cups of powder sugar...UMmm Good..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      My BF loved these! I thought they were pretty good, a little on the sweet side. When I make them again, I will use less sugar as advised in other posts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      These sort of remind me of gooey butter cake. I used about 3/4 of the powdered sugar and found that to be plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      I love that this recipe is so simple and tastes so good. Judging by the fact that my son and his friends are swarming around the pan and I'm fighting to get one that speaks for itself. They are good & sweet. This would be a great recipe for a showers, and christenings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      I made these for the teen group from church last night. We had 12 teens and 15 adults. Everyone raved about this dessert. I thought the topping was a little sweet but everyone else said it was great the way it was. I will make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bayou Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (1572 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 437.4
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    44%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 70.8 mg
    23%
    Sodium 344.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 45.3 g
    181%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites