Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bavarian Restaurant Beer Cheese Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bavarian Restaurant Beer Cheese Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2002

      Excellent Soup! I modified it by adding 8-oz more Chicken Stock and almost twice the required cheese. I also added cornstarch to thicken the soup. Next time I will cut the onions down by half, 3-cups is a bit much. I've already had the soup as a leftover and it's even better since the flavor has seated in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      Great soup! Except for cutting the butter in half, I made this exactly as written. I can see where some might like it thicker, but that is easily remedied by add some corn starch. I too used the Yeungling Black and Tan, and I also minced by veggies by giving them a whirl in the food processor instead of chopping by hand. Although I didn't try it for this go-round of making the soup, I can imagine it would be very tasty with pumpernickel croƻtons. Thank you Rhonda O for posting; this is a great soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      i also felt it seemed like it would have been better thicker... perhaps less stock. I used a Hefeweizen style beers... might have been too light for a soup. I also added mich more pepper and added some thyme too as i found the soup a bit mild tasting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      Ok, so here's the deal, used carrot instead of celery to make up the volume...mainly because i just don't like celery and I used real garlic because i didn't have any garlic salt. So with those modifications...I'm afraid it just didn't last. I made it an hour before a dinner party and kept sneaking spoon fulls. Served it with hot rolls and butter... It was so yummy...and for the chick who said it was chunky...I do concede that the Rhonda probably should have mentioned that you can just stick it in the blender, but then again how did you think they got the chunks out in the restaurants? Anyway it was brilliant. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      I made this for my family after trying a similar soup in a restaurant. We all loved it and I make it often. Very delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      Found it to be an excellent soup..used a home made very dark home brewed beer, found it easy, and also added cornstarch to thicken, family loved it and will make again..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      I was looking for a traditional beer cheese soup recipe for Halloween and picked this one. The large amount of celery & onion gave the soup a very chunky texture. I also felt that the soup should have been thicker. I won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      A microbrewery has a beer cheese soup that we love. This recipe is better! I used sharp cheddar, Yuengling Black and Tan and veggie stock. The only thing that stopped my husband from eating this all in one night was telling him the fat content This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bavarian Restaurant Beer Cheese Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (759 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 725.7
     
    Calories from Fat 418
    57%
    Total Fat 46.5 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 27.7 g
    138%
    Cholesterol 131.3 mg
    43%
    Sodium 1108.9 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 13.2 g
    53%
    Protein 27.2 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites