Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bavarian Apple Cheese Cake Tart Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bavarian Apple Cheese Cake Tart

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2009

      This was a huge hit with DH & DS. The morning after, I found one slim wedge left in the kitchen. The low-fat cream cheese works just fine, as did using a 10" springform pan & 3 large cooking apples. Thanks LorenLou for a "tart with a twist".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      I found this recipe about 20 yrs ago and people always rave over it. Just a wonderful blend of flavors and textures. I love that it can be made ahead but we prefer to serve it at room temperature. I've been asked to share the recipe dozens of times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      OMG, this is one of the best recipes I've made. It has a wonderful texture. I have begun to make it with whole wheat flour which give it a little bit of a wheat taste. Thanks for posting this great tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      This tart is fantastic. I made it in my food processor which shortened prep time. I'll be serving it at my next dinner party. No whipped cream needed! Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      I used Macintosh apples and followed the recipe... It came out beautifull and delicious. I served homemade whipped cream on top and sprinkled with chopped almonds... Delicious to say the least!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      What a delicious, beautiful looking tart!! It was worth the extra effort to nicely arrange the apple slices in the dish. I especially loved the shortbread crust!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Easy to make and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Practically perfect. I made it in a 12 inch tart pan, so I changed the recipe to 12 servings (1-1/2 the original recipe) and it worked just right. Delicious. I forgot the almonds, but want to try them next time. It sure makes a beautiful tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Turned out so well despite few modifications. For the crust, I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/16 tsp salt instead of 1/3 cup sugar. Because I ran out of butter, I also substituted with 1/4 cup butter+ 1/4 cup butter flavored shortening. I followed the recipe exactly for the cream cheese mixture. I added only 2 tbsp sugar to the sliced apples (about 4 medium Granny Smith apples) instead of 1/3 cup. I omitted the sliced almonds but will not do so next time because it seems the tart could taste even more amazing with them. The tart came out pretty and not to sweet. However it tasted a little eggy so next time I might try to use only 1 egg and a bit of cream instead of 2 eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      I made this for company and everyone loved it! Simple to throw together and the results couldn't be better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      We enjoyed this with the in-laws! Quick and easy, although I did cheat with the crust. I used partially overlapping granny smith apple slices that I cut with the apple tool mentioned by raisingcain (I love mine too!). I used ready-made shortbread crust from the bakery aisle. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I took a short cut and some liberties. for my short cut I used a store bought rolled up pie crust and a tart pan. I like the way the fluted edges look. I have a peeler/corer/slicer that took care of the apples quick. (best investment ever when you live in an apple growing state) My liberties were instead of vanilla extract and almonds sprinkled on top I used 1/2 tsp of almond extract and an apricot glaze to make it shiny. Thanks Lorenlou it was tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I tried this today and i thought it was pretty easy to whip up. I used a mandolin to slice the apples very thinly and although my tart didnt look half as good as Mark's pic but it smelled heavenly while baking. This tastes somewhat like apple cheese cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Supremely easy and delicious. I used shortcrust pastry from the freezer, and followed the recipe for the rest. Looked great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      one of the best cheese tarts EVER. thank you for posting it ^^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      Very tasty. I split the recipe and made tartlets and reduced the cooking time a bit, and they turned out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2004

      Where have you been all my life? A+ in simplicity, presentation, early preparation and taste! I have made quite a few different types of cakes, tarts, etc. in my life, this is one of the best! All my friends thought I bought it at a bakery...until they saw the bottom of the springform pan on the plate! I ate 2 slices by myself, even though I'm on a low-carb diet, but this is worth every pound that I gain! Thanks LorenLou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      A special treat Tart,was easy to make. the taste was just like the one I had in Germany,which was delicious. I will make this again with pears for a differnt twist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bavarian Apple Cheese Cake Tart

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.8
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    52%
    Total Fat 24.1 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 108.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 211.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 30.6 g
    122%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites