Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bauernbrot (German Farmer Bread) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bauernbrot (German Farmer Bread)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2010

      I've made this bread four times now (four weeks in a row). Once in the bread maker and the other times in the oven. Hands down it's best in the oven (nicer hand made texture and great crust). The first couple times I had a hard time getting it to rise but this last time it rose beautifully. I realized the difference this last time was after letting the bread sit in a warm place for 20 minutes, I fully kneaded it not only with my hands but also took the rolling pin to it for about 2 minutes. This must have activated the yeast and the prior times I only kneaded it for a few seconds. My husband is from Germany (has not even been the U.S. for two full years yet) and he has really missed the good German bread from Germany. He loves this bread and says it tastes exactly like the bread he always ate in Germany. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I picked this recipe for the April 2008 "Flower Power" challenge and I wasn't sorry I did. Excellent bread! I made ruebens with this recipe, using Russian Dressing and Reuben. Thanks for sharing a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      It is a good recipe, but it needs more water. The dough should be soft and elastic. It makes a great sandwich bread. I made the bread this weekend.8.1.2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Great bread! Made in the ABM but baked on preheated stone in the oven. I ran short of rye flour so ended up using what I had (about 3/4 cup) & adding 3/4 cup 9 grain cracked cereal mix & unbleached bread flour to make up the difference. What a great bread! Excellent texture - made for great turkey sandwiches! Thank you grunig for this keeper! Will be getting more rye to make it properly (though may keep adding the chewy cereal).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Thanks sooooo much for this recipe!!! It is totally authentic tasting and almost perfect. I did find it to be a little crumbly so I did some research and found that adding 2-3 T. of potato flour gave it a better texture. My German m-i-l says her neighbor adds a cooked, grated potato when she makes this type of bread Also, kingarthurflour.com has some awesome stuff called Rye Bread Improver and Rye Sour that you can use to add a little more rye flavor, if you like it that way. I baked grunig's bread with these extra ingredients and my in-laws were in awe of it when they visited from Germany last week. Thanks again for this superb recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Once we got the measurements figured out this bread was outstanding! It brings back memories of my Aunt in Germany baking bread in her outdoor oven. Just add some real butter and some schinken and let your tastebuds dance!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Easy to make. We basted the bread with blackberry yogurt. It tasted very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      This is my first Bavarian bread and it certainly won't be my last! I made as directed - whisked all the rye flour with some of the white, mixing to a soft dough then adding the white flour until the dough was nice and smooth. This is the first bread I have made using a pan of water and worked well for this bread. I did bake at a lower temperature and the bread was so good! I served this along with a pot of Southwestern Chicken & Barley Soup #101693 making for a great meal. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bauernbrot (German Farmer Bread)

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.9
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    99%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 117.5 g
    39%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    non-iodized salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes