Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Batter Fried Onion Rings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Batter Fried Onion Rings

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2007

      While the flavor was good, we didn't like the breading. It was too thick and chewy. We prefer a lighter, crisper breading. I had to add about 1/4 cup more milk (I used buttermilk) since it was like paste without it. I think it would have been even better if I had added an additional 1/2 cup milk. With it this thick, a lot of it stuck to each onion ring. I was only able to coat one onion worth of rings. I don't see how it could ever coat 6 onions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      Karen this batter rocks! my husband was craving onion rings with our hamburgers and this really hit the spot thank you! I did add a bit more milk and i added some paprika these were great thank you so much

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2014

      This batter was just okay -- too thick and got soggy very quickly. I tried it again substituting beer for the milk to no avail. I will keep searching for the ultimate onion ring batter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Batter was way too thick, had to add about 4 more tablespoons of milk. For a cripser ring, keep them in the oil longer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      My first onion rings, and my kids loved these. Thank you for sharing. Will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      Good batter! I added 2 more tbs. of milk. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

    • on July 19, 2005

      I think that this recipe may have an error in the amount of liquid to be used. We made this batter and it turned out much like dough. We added and extra 3/4 cup of milk to thin the batter enough to dip the onion rings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2002

      Karen, these were just lovely, all golden brown and the batter was light and tasty. I dipped them in coctail sauce. Yummy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Batter Fried Onion Rings

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 92.8
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    19%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 19.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 110.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites