Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Batter for Deep Frying Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Batter for Deep Frying

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2010

      This did the trick & is extremely easy to make. I just made this batter to fry some zucchini & i love it. So light and crispy and not over-powering the natural taste of the zucchini (not oily). I did not end up using the 1Tblsp egg... only cuz i didn't want the rest of it (the egg) to go to waste.. I also used extra-virgin olive oil instead of veg (personal pref.) but still its turned out perfect. Excellent for appetizers! I am now wanting to try the left-overs on something else. I have already cooked some fish for dinner, but i can see how great this would be as a fish batter as well. Will also try this to fry cauliflower and onion. Just a note: I didn't really have to measure everything perfectly, just make it to the consistency you need it, for example for a thicker fish batter use less water, for light and crispy veg batter, add more water to make a smoother texture. Thanks very much for this light, refreshing batter recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2013

      A great easy and tasty batter! I added some dried oregano and basil leaves and deep fried some fish. My daughter,who isn't a fish fan,cleaned her plate! Thumbs up all the way!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      This was not only easy but tasted great! I fried some zucchini and onions for pre dinner appetizers. Will be using this recipe again for fish. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      This recipe was the best I have ever used.It didnt get my oil all dirty like most batters do.Light and airy texture.We didnt think it had enough salt but that is easily added.I made 4 batches to do a generous batch of onion rings and catfish nuggets,so make plenty to begin with.try this you will not be sorry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      My husband and I both really liked this batter. I cut it in half and it got a little thick on me, but I just added a little water and it thinned down nicely. It fried up to a nice golden brown color and crisped up prefectly. Five stars all the way!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      I just tried this on cauliflower, and also chicken nuggets. Both came out great! I also did not use the egg, and I loved the texture and taste. Couldn't see wasting an egg. Love this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      5 stars all the way!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      I'm just gonna say.. I used it to deep fry something that you just might see at the State Fair of Texas NEXT YEAR!! Too late to get in this year!! And I will work in this recipe for the WOW factor.. It is already almost there and this recipe is AWESOME!! Held up well with what I was frying and didn't over power with the flavors of what I fried! Full props to Piper Lee!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      A very quick, easy to make batter, that is perfect for frying just about anything. Made some of the best chicken tenders I've ever had with this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Best tasting and easiest recipe for batter frying I've ever tried!!!!!

      No more searching for the right one because this is it!

      Thank You Piper Lee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Light and airy! Lets you still taste what ever is under it! And it DOES cover a whole lot even tho it doesn't look like it will. Will use a whole bunch more. Thanks Piper Lee! Instead of water try sparkling water! It really puts a different spin on it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Made for Easter Egg tag Event. I have been searching for a good light batter for deep-frying and this did not disappoint. Made just as directed....yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Absolutely the best batter I've ever made. I added a little corn meal and chili powder. Really held up well. Fish was terrific and fried thouroughly through and through. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Great with any meat or vegetable we have tried it with, and it doesn't trash your oil as some batters do. It is a great base to experiment with different spices depending on the fare. This will be used in our house for as long as I am doing the deep frying...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Batter for Deep Frying

    Serving Size: 1 (32 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 82.1
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    28%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 9.0 mg
    3%
    Sodium 162.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites