19 Reviews

This did the trick & is extremely easy to make. I just made this batter to fry some zucchini & i love it. So light and crispy and not over-powering the natural taste of the zucchini (not oily). I did not end up using the 1Tblsp egg... only cuz i didn't want the rest of it (the egg) to go to waste.. I also used extra-virgin olive oil instead of veg (personal pref.) but still its turned out perfect. Excellent for appetizers! I am now wanting to try the left-overs on something else. I have already cooked some fish for dinner, but i can see how great this would be as a fish batter as well. Will also try this to fry cauliflower and onion. Just a note: I didn't really have to measure everything perfectly, just make it to the consistency you need it, for example for a thicker fish batter use less water, for light and crispy veg batter, add more water to make a smoother texture. Thanks very much for this light, refreshing batter recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Latte December 10, 2010

A great easy and tasty batter! I added some dried oregano and basil leaves and deep fried some fish. My daughter,who isn't a fish fan,cleaned her plate! Thumbs up all the way!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marloyves April 29, 2013

This was not only easy but tasted great! I fried some zucchini and onions for pre dinner appetizers. Will be using this recipe again for fish. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z August 19, 2008

This recipe was the best I have ever used.It didnt get my oil all dirty like most batters do.Light and airy texture.We didnt think it had enough salt but that is easily added.I made 4 batches to do a generous batch of onion rings and catfish nuggets,so make plenty to begin with.try this you will not be sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dwill143 February 15, 2008

My husband and I both really liked this batter. I cut it in half and it got a little thick on me, but I just added a little water and it thinned down nicely. It fried up to a nice golden brown color and crisped up prefectly. Five stars all the way!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
r_mess September 02, 2006

This recipe was great. I used it for chicken and it turned out fantastic. I omitted the egg because I didn't want to waste what was left over. Since we like spice I added crushed red pepper. I think this might be my new frying I batter. Don't tell my grandmother

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristi D. April 17, 2016

This was just okay to me. One problem I had was with the batter surrounding the veggies I was frying. Some stay on and some fell off in little threads. Thank you though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katobow February 25, 2016

There are no negative reviews for this recipe and I don't have one to add. I used this to fry tofu. I changed a few things but not measurements nor concept. I used whole wheat, Flax egg, and olive oil. It was great. I'm not even going to look at any other recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
devo N. February 18, 2016

Thumbs up, easy and worked so well - even made chicken hearts edible ( logical conclusion to a homeschool lesson) :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage B. January 07, 2016

This is a great recipe for deep frying chicken! Really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baker2000 January 19, 2015
Batter for Deep Frying