15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This did the trick & is extremely easy to make. I just made this batter to fry some zucchini & i love it. So light and crispy and not over-powering the natural taste of the zucchini (not oily). I did not end up using the 1Tblsp egg... only cuz i didn't want the rest of it (the egg) to go to waste.. I also used extra-virgin olive oil instead of veg (personal pref.) but still its turned out perfect. Excellent for appetizers! I am now wanting to try the left-overs on something else. I have already cooked some fish for dinner, but i can see how great this would be as a fish batter as well. Will also try this to fry cauliflower and onion. Just a note: I didn't really have to measure everything perfectly, just make it to the consistency you need it, for example for a thicker fish batter use less water, for light and crispy veg batter, add more water to make a smoother texture. Thanks very much for this light, refreshing batter recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Latte December 10, 2010

A great easy and tasty batter! I added some dried oregano and basil leaves and deep fried some fish. My daughter,who isn't a fish fan,cleaned her plate! Thumbs up all the way!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marloyves April 29, 2013

This was not only easy but tasted great! I fried some zucchini and onions for pre dinner appetizers. Will be using this recipe again for fish. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z August 19, 2008

This recipe was the best I have ever used.It didnt get my oil all dirty like most batters do.Light and airy texture.We didnt think it had enough salt but that is easily added.I made 4 batches to do a generous batch of onion rings and catfish nuggets,so make plenty to begin with.try this you will not be sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dwill143 February 15, 2008

My husband and I both really liked this batter. I cut it in half and it got a little thick on me, but I just added a little water and it thinned down nicely. It fried up to a nice golden brown color and crisped up prefectly. Five stars all the way!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
r_mess September 02, 2006

This is a great recipe for deep frying chicken! Really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baker2000 January 19, 2015

I just tried this on cauliflower, and also chicken nuggets. Both came out great! I also did not use the egg, and I loved the texture and taste. Couldn't see wasting an egg. Love this!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C.A. C. July 04, 2014

5 stars all the way!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaboo222_5609485 June 05, 2014

I'm just gonna say.. I used it to deep fry something that you just might see at the State Fair of Texas NEXT YEAR!! Too late to get in this year!! And I will work in this recipe for the WOW factor.. It is already almost there and this recipe is AWESOME!! Held up well with what I was frying and didn't over power with the flavors of what I fried! Full props to Piper Lee!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne H. September 02, 2013

A very quick, easy to make batter, that is perfect for frying just about anything. Made some of the best chicken tenders I've ever had with this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
combatpasta September 02, 2012
Batter for Deep Frying