Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Batter Dipped Deep Fried Cauliflower Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Batter Dipped Deep Fried Cauliflower

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2009

      Sooooo good! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was that the temp seemed a bit too high for the cook time, when we do this again (which will be very soon) we'll try 350 and make sure to use bigger pieces. Some of mine were too small and the cauliflower pretty much disappeared (which made for little pieces of very tasty deep fried batter, danger :) . Thanks for sharing a perfect combination of flavors and for getting my 5 year old to eat cauliflower!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      I can't wait to try out this recipe. I grew up in upstate NY and always ate deep fried cauliflower when my mother took us to Bernie Murray's for chicken wings. You have to try these with Cocktail Sauce it's the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      This is sooo good. I also grew up going to Bernie Murrays and getting this and wings! I live in Virginia now and they don't make it anywhere down here. I found this recipe and made it for my friend, who also grew up in Elmira, NY, and had this at many restaurants. She was quite impressed, and loved it. Her husband who hates cauliflower, also loved it. It is really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      My family has been frying cauliflower for close to 100 years so I would make several suggestions. Cut the cauliflower into tennis ball size chunks. Steam until a fork will barely go in. Cool quickly, you don't want mushy cauliflower. Mix eggs with a cup of milk. Dip in caulf. and roll in flour seasoned with salt, pepper, cayenne. Fry in hot oil. Serve while still hot. Small children will think it's fried chicken and ask for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      Definitely not spicy enough. I added 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and needed more. Plus for one full head of cauliflower need to double recipe for both egg mixture and flour mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      loved this recipe, been looking for one for a while that actually works and tastes good. Have even thought of trying other veggies now to, the only thing is I will add a little more ingredients and leave out the cayenne, being I don't like spicy food. Thanks so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      I really liked the seasoning mixture. I tried it also on some other veggies that I then coated with cracker crumbs and they were a big hit also. I didn't taste the cheese though so I might try it without and with more next time to see if i can taste it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      We loved this! Four of the five kids ate a bunch and the fifth tasted them but did not want anymore. I loved them and am waiting for hubby to get home to see what he thinks. Served with ranch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      I made this recipe tonight and it was a big hit. I don't have a deep-fryer so I debated whether to bake these or do a shallow pan-fry. I settled in the end for the pan-fry. Some of the flour floated off in the oil, but enough of it stayed on that in the end they were quite tasty, even if they didn't have such a thick coating as one would get with deep fry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I made half a recipe along with other appetizers. Great flavor. DH loved it and ate most of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      it was good, i used a small cauliflower head so had plenty of crust with these proportions... i ended up making white cheese sauce, and spreading all over them... i'de do it again, but next time i'de put some of that white sauce inside the egg mixture, in the first step.. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I loved these! I like to order them when we go out but have never attempted them at home. I chose this recipe and am so glad I did, we enjoyed them very much. I also use zucchini sticks with this, but it didn't stick as well as the cauliflower. They were delicious. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      WOW! I have been looking for a recipe for cauliflower. It was so quick, easy, light and tasty. My family ate the entire batch. We served it with ranch dressing which was awesome. This is a KEEPER! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      I've made fried cauliflower before with the dry mixes in the store...boy does this blow those away! Never again will I buy those. I did change it up a little since I like things pretty spicy. I added cayenne pepper drops to the egg mixture and used a ton of garlic and onion powders and put some Pampered Chef "Chipolte Rub" in the flour mix. I also increased the parm & romano cheese blend to about 1/4 cup. I used cheddar cheese soup made with 1/2 a can of milk to dip this in. I had to pry myself away! Thanks for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      wow! this an outstanding recipe. I had been looking forward to making this recipe on my day off all week -- and it was well worth the wait! I put half the batch into a bagged caesar salad (got the idea from 'everyday italian' on the food network) and had the other half for snacks. both were great! I didn't have ranch to dip in, but they still were fantastic plain. thanks for a wonderful keeper! looking forward to trying this with other fresh veggies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      These were quite good, yet the oregano, or possibly the thyme seemed a little overpowering. We could not taste the parmesan cheese at all. Next time I think I will increase the parmesan cheese a bit, and cut back on the oregano, and thyme. The two just didn't compliment each other.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      This was very good. Not as heavily coated as some places serve it. I found I liked it with quite a bit of salt after frying. Using the baggies also kept the mess to a minimum. Thanks Parsley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      OH yummy! All four of us, even the one and four year olds, couldn't get enough of these! Most definitely a repeater.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      yummy. now i don't have to go to the restaurant and pay $$$ for the fried brocoli, it's so easy. surprisingly very filling too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Loved this recipe. Very tasty. Even my picky 5 year old who won't eat cooked cauliflower only raw with dip ate it. I served with ranch dressing. Had some ranch with taco seasoning mixed in to go with it, also like Lonestar's Amarillo Cheese Fries copycat recipe posted up here. I think I will refrigerate them for awhile though next time, so the breading will be a little better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Batter Dipped Deep Fried Cauliflower

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.5
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    14%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 63.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 177.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites