8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is really good. My husband really enjoys it. I substituted 1 tsp garlic powder for the fresh garlic and left out the salt and pepper. Used butter and canned mushrooms. Didn't soak or rinse the rice as didn't notice that part until having it all together. Had skimmed the recipe and was going from memory instead of printing it out. LOL Still turned out great. Have made it twice now and will definitely be making it again. Very easy dish to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebMK March 01, 2012

Pretty good. Looked very lovely. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racehorse87 March 17, 2010

Very good and flavorful rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlee #2 February 08, 2009

Was good, butter, presoaking the rice & fresh mushrooms sauteed make it better. Make sure not to use too much turmeric or you will taste it (It's for colour I assume)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat November 25, 2008

This recipe is very easy in the oven and work Great as a Stuffing for Pork Tenderloin. I did some adjusting of the amounts of seasonings and my Guys ate it like it was going out of style. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shampaigne68 July 22, 2008

This is a very easy and tasty dish. I also added some shrimp to it and more turmeric. My husband and I both loved it!! Thanks for posting:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dana78olson February 05, 2008

The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that I would prefer fresh mushrooms to canned, and will probably try that next time, sauteeing them with the onions and garlic. Otherwise a very simple, pretty and tasty dish that I will serve again. Thanks for sharing Kittencal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cranberry January 23, 2007

Very good! I did have to leave out the mushrooms, because I didn't have any, but I can see how that would be awesome in this dish! I really liked the subtle addition of the chicken broth instead of water...This was my first try with turmeric, and my kids really, really liked the flavor! (I added just a little dried parsley flakes too.) Very easy recipe to follow, and the results are fantastic! Thanks for sharing KC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacky5 June 28, 2006
Basmati Rice With Turmeric and Mushrooms