Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basil Zucchini Orzo Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil Zucchini Orzo Salad

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2011

      This salad is fabulous. Easy; no mayo so perfect for an outdoor event and a great way to use up some zucchini. Really pretty if you use yellow and green.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      I had 2 medium zucchini I wanted to use & am currently obsessed with making orzo side dishes, so I chose this recipe. I'm glad I did... It was Delish! You hardly knew the zucchini was in there. I used the grating blade on my food processor & after soaking with the salt then hand squeezed the water out. I followed the recipe as written using the feta cheese option... EXCEPT I used extra garlic and more lemon juice than stated. Nice way to use the summer bounty of squash from my garden. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      I found this recipe searching to use zucchini in a salad for lunch. The basil in my garden was also going crazy. I did change out the orzo and chicken stock for 2 cups of previously cooked quinoa. I am gluten free and already had this in fridge. I used parmasean cheese. It was very tasty. I might consider the red pepper flakes in the future. My boyfriend is not real fond of zuchini and he also thought it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      This made for a lovely tasty side dish to our chicken main, I would probably cut the lemn just a little next time though. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      We really loved this salad! It tasted like it has a lot of oil, cheese, etc., in it, but it really doesn't. I accidentally used twice as much orzo as I was supposed to, but it still was really good. Thanks for a great new way to use up some zukes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      I have made this twice now, the first time using homemade pesto rather than the basil, oil, garlic, oregano mixture, and the second exactly as stated. I have to say that I preferred the first, quicker version to the original. I think either way, it is an ingenious way to hide raw courgette in a salad, and one to remember when the zucchini season is upon us! Thanks for this great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      I am not a big zucchini fan but am trying to expand my horizons lately and thought this sounded good. I was right! It is *really* good! I made a few minor changes in quantities, using 6 oz orzo, 3 zucchini (3/4 tsp salt) and 6 oz feta cheese. Also added 3/4 tsp red pepper flakes to give it a bit of 'kick'. Thanks for the recipe Julesong!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

      This is delicious! i made a few changes: doubled the amount of orzo, used veg broth to keep it vegetarian, and used 1 cup fresh grated parmesan. This would be a great way to get zuchini-haters to try it--the zuchini "disappears" in the basil! I am bringing this to a potluck tonite and I know it will be popular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil Zucchini Orzo Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.2
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    61%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 4.1 mg
    1%
    Sodium 407.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes