Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basil-Walnut Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil-Walnut Pesto

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-59 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2008

    • on August 17, 2008

      Perfect & easy. I wanted to make pesto, but only had walnuts & no pine nuts. I ran across this recipe & it was wonderful. I did ad the juice of 1/2 a lemon. I can't wait to make again, thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Pretty good recipe, although I changed things a bit to make it vegan. I followed the recipe, using 1/2 cup nutritional yeast in place of the cheese, did not add the optional butter, but did add the optional salt and bit of black pepper. I had to use more oil than the recipe called for, but it tasted good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Dahlia, this is money! You nailed it! Very easy and tasty! I added a little lemon juice but thats it! No butter and it's great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

    • on April 22, 2008

      The best pesto EVER. Seriosly. Make this exactly according to the recipe - don't add, don't delete and you will have a winner every time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      My 8-year-old daughter's class was doing a cooking unit, so I helped several kids prepare this in a very simple kitchen for the whole class. It was easy for the kids to make and a huge hit with all of them, even the ones who initially made faces at the "green pasta." We handed out the recipe, and I've had three kids tell me they convinced their parents to make it, too, because they liked it so much! It's really flavorful without being too salty or oily -- great consistency. I did toast the walnuts lightly beforehand, and we didn't use any butter. Otherwise followed the recipe directly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Yum! This had a great consistancy and different flavor than the pesto I'm used to with pine nuts. I also added a tablespoon of flax seed to my pesto for some extra nutritional value and two packages frozen squeezed-dry spinach to help my toddler get his veggies. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Simply Tasty! I've made this recipe several times this summer. It's easy enough that my four-year-old and I make it together. He and my six-year-old help me whip it up and adjust for tast. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Add extra olive oil rather than butter if you want to avoid the saturated fat. Really tasty recipe and perfect quantity mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Delicious! I had a large bunch of Basil from our local Farmer's Market and wanted to use it as the main feature! I made Pesto Rice Peppers the first night, and will use the leftover pesto for a sandwich spread. I added course sea salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Excellent! I upped the walnuts a bit (1/2 cup chopped) and used this for a pasta salad with black beans, squash, red pepper, fresh peas, carotts and corn. Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      One tiny thing is that I'd prefer the walnuts measurement pre-chopping, because that way it's easier to throw it all into the food processor/blender without much prep work... Other than that, it was incredibly easy and delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      DELICIOUS and extraordinarily easy to make. Will be making this time and time again and will be adding this recipe to the family cookbook. Did not change a thing - perfect as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Delicious- I made this in my blender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      This was my first attempt at pesto. We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      Thowing caution to the wind here. If you choose to freeze in cube trays...One cube goes a long way. I made a batch of gnocchi, as a side dish, and only used one cube of pesto. It was plenty thouroughy mix in, but of course everyone's taste is different and some may like a strong pesto flavour and some may like only a light pesto taste. As I've mentioned in a previous review, dahlia, this is wonderful. I've made two batches since my first review. Wonderful on pesto pizza, too ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      This is a very easy-to-make pesto, tastes delicious on pasta, and is not too gourmet for the picky men in my family. They've loved it every time. What a surprise and what nice way to use fresh basil! Grated fresh parmesean cheese is a must. A+ recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      This was tops. I melted the butter in a large pan, then added the pesto and warmed before tossing in the noodles. I used a little more than a pound of spaghetti noodles. I didn't add the parmesean cheese. Instead I put it on the table so we could sprinkle on top. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil-Walnut Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.7
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    88%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 7.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 129.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites