62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I simmered three large smashed garlic cloves in the olive oil for a few minutes with a pinch of crushed red pepper and allowed to cool for an hour before making the pesto. Also added 1/4 cup toasted, salted sunflower seeds at the end for a bit of added crunch, served it on angel hair tossed with a bit more cheese and a drizzle of fresh EVOO. Otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. My husband has not liked pestos I've made in the past, isn't real big on pasta either, but he just chowed down on this... thank you Dahlia for a great pesto recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annwhal August 12, 2014

This pesto is fabulous! I haven't tried others but researching recipes, they're all about the same. I di throw a handful of parsley in to preserve the color as suggested and omitted the butter. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny M. July 13, 2014

This was my first time making homemade pesto! How easy! And since walnuts are much more apt to be in my pantry than pine nuts, I so no reason not to make my own from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dine September 04, 2013

The best I have ever made, love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dodygary August 03, 2013

This was a yummy starter recipe! I did make some changes as I went - some based on what other reviewers said, and some based on what I saw on other recipes!<br/><br/>I did NOT use any butter.<br/>I used mostly walnuts and threw in some sliced almonds - because I had them on hand.<br/>I toasted the nuts before adding them. (spread out on a cookie sheet for about 10 minutes at 350 degrees)<br/>I didn't have quite enough basil, so I used about 1 and 1/2 cups basil and 1/2 a cup spinach.<br/>I added both salt and pepper to taste.<br/>I added a little bit of warm water and extra olive oil to get a smoother consistency.<br/>I also added the juice from half a lemon.<br/><br/>I put all of the ingredients in my magic bullet (small blender / food processor) and just blended it up until smooth (stirring it here and there). I then just mixed it in with cooked penne pasta, added some grilled chicken and tomatoes and then let it chill for about an hour in the fridge! Yum! Everyone loved it. Following the recipe for 6 servings worked well with a little more than 1/2 a box of the Barilla penne pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smc393 July 06, 2013

Holy smoke...you win the internet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng September 05, 2012

Perfect! I did not use the butter either. I might add it fresh when I am using the pesto. I had to harvest a bunch of basil and I am freezing the pesto in ice cube trays to get easy portions whenever I want.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristing June 25, 2012

Good pesto sauce. Simple and fast to make.
I omitted the butter and add some baby spinach to make the color greener.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nurdiana January 31, 2012

I love pesto, but I don't usually keep pine nuts on hand, this was a perfect recipe I could make from what was already in the garden, pantry and fridge. Even my picky kids liked this! Loved it, Loved it, Loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blondiecancook August 29, 2010
Basil-Walnut Pesto