Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basil-Walnut Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil-Walnut Pesto

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2010

      I am so glad I finally found a pesto recipe that's budget friendly. With the price of pine nuts these days, this recipe allows me to make pesto dishes without sacrificing the taste, but for half the price. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      First time making homemade pesto. Had an abundance of basil to use up, didn't have pine nuts, but had walnuts. Was great, a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      I just finished off my garden for the year and had some late basil, and fresh black walnuts in my yard from our walnut tree. I was looking for something to do with them both and thought pesto! I tried this recipe and spiced it up with some red pepper flakes. Tasted great tonight, tomorrow I'm looking forward to some pesto grilled chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Just like most I tried this recipe because I never have pine nuts around, but always have walnuts. When I first mixed it up it tasted a little bland to me. After sitting a couple hours it perked up though! Just needed time to meld I suppose. Still it needs a little something. Maybe ramano cheese next time for some extra zip. Or a little lemon juice. Either way I'm sure I'll be useing it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe, although I have to add some pine nuts, in memory of my Italian father, who introduced them to me. For the person who added this pesto to her gnocchi, in the region around Genoa, pesto is very prized and prevalent and I was surprised to learn that they add small potatoes to the gnocchi with pesto. Delicioso!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

    • on September 22, 2009

      Oh, yum! Great flavor. I also substituted half with spinach as the basil I grew this year is very potent and I wanted a milder flavor. I also toasted my walnuts first. Delicious and easy! I just threw everything in the food processor (except that I grated in the garlic) with a bit of cracked pepper and blended until smooth. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      AWESOME! this is so yummy! using walnuts instead of pine nuts made this recipe so much more affordable! i toasted the walnuts ahead of time, but otherwise stuck with the recipe and loved it! . thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      My fiance is allergic to pine nuts, but I cannot imagine life without ever making pesto, so I was happy to find this recipe. The pesto was great. I used it for a sun-dried tomato pesto pasta recipe that I've made before... is was just so-so because it needed more tomatoes, but the pesto sauce was very good. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      This was a great recipe - pine nuts are so expensive so it was great to have the recipe using walnuts instead. I think I will leave out the butter next time - not sure it added anything - but other than that, it was so delicious!! I served it tossed with whole wheat linguine. Yummy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      We had a TON of basil this year so I decided to try making pesto. I chose this recipe since we had walnuts and I didn't want to go out and buy pinenuts. I just finished making this pesto and its sooooo good. I had it on top of toasted bread and it was yummy. Tomorrow i'm going to add it to some pasta for dinner. Great recipe! Fast and easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This is excellent! My 2 and 3 year old kids just GOBBLED it up on spiral pasta, served with sauteed chicken breast chunks (EVOO, sliced garlic, seasoning salt) on top. With that and sourdough bread and a green salad, it made a wonderful, healthy meal. Thanks so much for this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      This is the best pesto! I have used this recipe many times, sometimes I use asiago cheese and it's fabulous. I make double batches and freeze in (plastic wrap lined) ice cube trays to be sure we always have some on hand. Hubby and kiddos add it to store bought spaghetti sauce, spread it on their home made bruchetta, english muffin pizzas and anything else that sounds good to them. Thank you Dahlia, your recipe is a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Wow! This pesto is awesome. I used 2.5 packed cups of basil from the garden and I omitted the butter. I chopped everything up before I ran it through the blender. It was like a thick, firm paste, which I was not familiar with from my experience with storebought pesto. I tossed it with hot wholewheat spaghetti and threw in some steamed broccoli. It tasted perfect. Even my food buddy, who doesn't like pesto, said he would be willing to eat it again within the month(that's saying alot). Great recipe for those who don't want to spend lots of $ on pine nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Very good recipe. I omitted the butter, and used peccarino cheese vs parmesan. Used the 2 cups basil and ended up with a nice mild flavor, next time I will up the basil to give it more herb flavor. Made as written and served 3 for dinner with pasta and have over half the recipe leftover in the freezer. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      I didn't add the butter, but it was still pretty good. I have to admit, I like pesto with pine nuts a little better, but I'm trying to find healthier recipes. I will definitely use this recipe again in the future. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Nice mild flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      What can I say....YUM YUM YUM!!! Subbed some spinach leaves for half of the basil (overabundant garden last summer) and was very impressed. Walnuts in the pesto is genius!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      i have tried many pesto recipes and this is one of my favorites! i've used it as a spread and on many different types of pasta. always perfect. i would say that if you do want butter start with 1 tablespoon and then see if you might like more. i made it once with 2 tablespoons and found it a bit too buttery. thank you so much for posting!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Most excellent and easy recipe! It was delicious on my caprese sandwich and can think of many things to use it with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil-Walnut Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.7
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    88%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 7.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 129.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites