61 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I never use butter in my pesto...I had an Italian friend tell me that a handful of parsley will keep the pesto green (basil browns when the leaves are bruised). if you freeze, she told me, top of the container with olive oil to seal it and keep it fresh.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stretch751 January 17, 2012

4.5 stars! This is my first time making pesto. It was rather a success too! I added more garlic, about 4 cloves. I also added the juice of 1 lime to it. I would have added lemon but lime is what was in the fridge. The citrus juice def. kicked this up a whole notch. I suggest you toast your walnuts too. I'm going to probably try other pesto recipes but I would use this recipe again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
embuggy June 21, 2010

OOOOHHH!! OOOOHH!! OOOOHHH! This pesto is GOOD! and Easy! My Granddaughter gave me some fresh basil that she grew, so I looked for an easy recipe with ingredients that I had in my panrty....this one was the bomb!! Even though I did not have fresh parmesan and had to use that Kraft stuff, it still was great! I toasted the walnuts as suggested by several reviewers. Tomorrow my Granddaughter is coming over and bringing more basil, so I will teach her to make pesto using this recipe! Thanks for a keeper, Dahlia, I will make this again! Forgot to add that I did not use the butter, the pesto was great without it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin mimi August 05, 2012

I soaked my nuts in salt water for 24 hours before I made this. It turned out AWESOME. Served it over whole wheat penne with peas.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather V. June 23, 2010

I made it today, very good proportions, nice and inexpensive recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eva_anita September 29, 2013

I Made this recipe exactly as it is written last night. In a big bowl, I combined all of the pesto with one pound grilled chicken cut into bite sized pieces, another 1/3-1/2 cup of shredded parmesan, one box of wheat penne and added lots of pepper. It was fabulous!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mercurially July 17, 2013

Really great recipe!!!! Basic and simple and produces a superior product, especially if you use quality ingredients, no skimping and no KRAFT Parmesan in a can. I was out of walnuts and planned to make this tonight. I had forgotten to stop by the nut man at the Farmer's Market this morning when I picked up the basil and garlic and so instead of running to the store I subbed unsalted sunflower seeds which I toasted lightly on the stove top before adding to the basil leaves and garlic and it was great!!!! I also recommend crushing the garlic into the oil and adding the salt to the oil at least an hour before preparing the other ingredients or even the day before (do not refrigerate, cover with saran and leave on counter top. Again thanks for posting a simple, easy to follow classic recipe from which one can use their imagination to create something unique. It's also just great as a bread spread and with some provolone and salami or just cheese on it's own makes a wonderful sandwich.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Farmer September 23, 2011

Soooo delicious!! I followed the recipe only I ended up using more oil to make it thinner and "dip-able"...We devoured this recipe along with a loaf of italian bread. So good. Use a good parmesan cheese, it makes a huge difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberri_Skies August 08, 2010

O yes! Wonderful flavour. Couldn't quite decide about the butter, so split the difference and added just 1 Tbs, also added the optional salt. Perfecto! Have frozen some to see how that turns out. Thank you for an easy, tasty recipe, Dahlia.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shazzie February 21, 2010

I simmered three large smashed garlic cloves in the olive oil for a few minutes with a pinch of crushed red pepper and allowed to cool for an hour before making the pesto. Also added 1/4 cup toasted, salted sunflower seeds at the end for a bit of added crunch, served it on angel hair tossed with a bit more cheese and a drizzle of fresh EVOO. Otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. My husband has not liked pestos I've made in the past, isn't real big on pasta either, but he just chowed down on this... thank you Dahlia for a great pesto recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annwhal August 12, 2014
Basil-Walnut Pesto