Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Basil-Walnut Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basil-Walnut Pesto

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2012

      I never use butter in my pesto...I had an Italian friend tell me that a handful of parsley will keep the pesto green (basil browns when the leaves are bruised). if you freeze, she told me, top of the container with olive oil to seal it and keep it fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      4.5 stars! This is my first time making pesto. It was rather a success too! I added more garlic, about 4 cloves. I also added the juice of 1 lime to it. I would have added lemon but lime is what was in the fridge. The citrus juice def. kicked this up a whole notch. I suggest you toast your walnuts too. I'm going to probably try other pesto recipes but I would use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      OOOOHHH!! OOOOHH!! OOOOHHH! This pesto is GOOD! and Easy! My Granddaughter gave me some fresh basil that she grew, so I looked for an easy recipe with ingredients that I had in my panrty....this one was the bomb!! Even though I did not have fresh parmesan and had to use that Kraft stuff, it still was great! I toasted the walnuts as suggested by several reviewers. Tomorrow my Granddaughter is coming over and bringing more basil, so I will teach her to make pesto using this recipe! Thanks for a keeper, Dahlia, I will make this again! Forgot to add that I did not use the butter, the pesto was great without it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      I soaked my nuts in salt water for 24 hours before I made this. It turned out AWESOME. Served it over whole wheat penne with peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      I made it today, very good proportions, nice and inexpensive recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      I Made this recipe exactly as it is written last night. In a big bowl, I combined all of the pesto with one pound grilled chicken cut into bite sized pieces, another 1/3-1/2 cup of shredded parmesan, one box of wheat penne and added lots of pepper. It was fabulous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      Really great recipe!!!! Basic and simple and produces a superior product, especially if you use quality ingredients, no skimping and no KRAFT Parmesan in a can. I was out of walnuts and planned to make this tonight. I had forgotten to stop by the nut man at the Farmer's Market this morning when I picked up the basil and garlic and so instead of running to the store I subbed unsalted sunflower seeds which I toasted lightly on the stove top before adding to the basil leaves and garlic and it was great!!!! I also recommend crushing the garlic into the oil and adding the salt to the oil at least an hour before preparing the other ingredients or even the day before (do not refrigerate, cover with saran and leave on counter top. Again thanks for posting a simple, easy to follow classic recipe from which one can use their imagination to create something unique. It's also just great as a bread spread and with some provolone and salami or just cheese on it's own makes a wonderful sandwich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      Soooo delicious!! I followed the recipe only I ended up using more oil to make it thinner and "dip-able"...We devoured this recipe along with a loaf of italian bread. So good. Use a good parmesan cheese, it makes a huge difference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      O yes! Wonderful flavour. Couldn't quite decide about the butter, so split the difference and added just 1 Tbs, also added the optional salt. Perfecto! Have frozen some to see how that turns out. Thank you for an easy, tasty recipe, Dahlia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2014

    • on September 04, 2013

      This was my first time making homemade pesto! How easy! And since walnuts are much more apt to be in my pantry than pine nuts, I so no reason not to make my own from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      The best I have ever made, love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      This was a yummy starter recipe! I did make some changes as I went - some based on what other reviewers said, and some based on what I saw on other recipes!<br/><br/>I did NOT use any butter.<br/>I used mostly walnuts and threw in some sliced almonds - because I had them on hand.<br/>I toasted the nuts before adding them. (spread out on a cookie sheet for about 10 minutes at 350 degrees)<br/>I didn't have quite enough basil, so I used about 1 and 1/2 cups basil and 1/2 a cup spinach.<br/>I added both salt and pepper to taste.<br/>I added a little bit of warm water and extra olive oil to get a smoother consistency.<br/>I also added the juice from half a lemon.<br/><br/>I put all of the ingredients in my magic bullet (small blender / food processor) and just blended it up until smooth (stirring it here and there). I then just mixed it in with cooked penne pasta, added some grilled chicken and tomatoes and then let it chill for about an hour in the fridge! Yum! Everyone loved it. Following the recipe for 6 servings worked well with a little more than 1/2 a box of the Barilla penne pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      Holy smoke...you win the internet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      Perfect! I did not use the butter either. I might add it fresh when I am using the pesto. I had to harvest a bunch of basil and I am freezing the pesto in ice cube trays to get easy portions whenever I want.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      Good pesto sauce. Simple and fast to make.
      I omitted the butter and add some baby spinach to make the color greener.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I love pesto, but I don't usually keep pine nuts on hand, this was a perfect recipe I could make from what was already in the garden, pantry and fridge. Even my picky kids liked this! Loved it, Loved it, Loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      yum, great pesto! i used dry jack cheese instead of parm (a hard california cheese that can be used the same way as parm). it is a bit salty, but i think it will be perfect when served with pasta. next time, i'd probably reduce the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Wow!!! Love this pesto recipe. My husband's face lit up immediately when he had his first mouthful. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basil-Walnut Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.7
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    88%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 7.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 129.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites