9 Reviews

Love this recipe! I'm always looking for new ways to use my basil. A girl can only make pesto so much in the summer before you get tired of it. This dressing is light, refreshing and super yummy! I do agree with the other reviewers that there was too much vinegar for my liking. So the second time I made it I only put in 2Tbsp of Red Wine Vinegar but I kept the 1/4 cup of lemon juice and it was perfect. I have also added a little bit of garlic powder and that also works very nicely with this dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcrafton July 18, 2012

This is so fresh! Love this for salads and even on bread! It's good on anything! Trying it to day on a trisket cracker, tomato, jack cheese with this drizzled over the top. I can't believe I did not review this sooner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis June 10, 2012

This was a wonderfully, tasty vinaigrette and I loved the basil flavor. The sour taste really needs to be balanced out with something salty, so I suggest blending in some bleu cheese or just serving it in a mixed green salad with a salty cheese like bleu. Very good overall.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 July 29, 2007

I adore basil so added extra, very finely chopped and I let the dressing sit in the fridge overnight so that the flavours could really infuse. We had it the next day on salad greens with cuccumber and tomato and it was refeshing and tasty. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is becuase the vinegar stood out a little more than we liked, next time I make this I will cut back on the red wine vinegar just a little and in the meantime it's going into my family handwritten cookbook so that I can make it often. Please see my rating system: a lovely 4 stars:) Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch October 03, 2006

Simple, fresh tasting vinaigrette! The first time I used this recipe I was out of red wine vinegar and substituted white wine vinegar. It was almost as good as using the red! Nice to know if your in a pinch! Thanks herby!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fruit'n'herbs September 07, 2006

What I liked most about this dressing is that it boosted the flavor of all of the ingredients in the tossed salad. It gave the entire salad a real garden-fresh flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon August 27, 2006

A super simple dressing. The combination is very good and this is a great way to use an abundance of garden fresh basil. Great over grilled fish or chicken salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel August 02, 2006

I made this to go over crab cakes over romaine. The lemon juice really gives the dressing a bright flavor. We all enjoyed it and will make it again. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado June 20, 2006
Basil Vinaigrette Salad Dressing